Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I went with my gut(ha!) and cooked the meat before mixing it and it was awesome! Also i would up using tomato sauce intead of soup bc I was out. I just add garlic powder and basil to make up for using the tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My family has been making this since their days in Ukraine. If you're worried about fat, DON'T MAKE IT! LOL The best way to make this is with ground pork or 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork. The meat is much more flavorful and moist. Also, this recipe does not use bread crumbs or corn flake crumbs (I use corn flakes crumbs). It will be very dry ad crumbly if you don't use some sort of crumbs. You cut the bottom of the cabbage off to access the leaves (someone complained they couldn't get the leaves off the cabbage lol). Use lots of pepper, an entire onion and try some pasted garlic, just a little. Also, I use V-8 low sodium for the sauce. Don't be afraid to try different things and make the recipe your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was just like my mom's recipe. This has been a family favorite all my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kdgerhardt
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Try adding some garlic & Worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. It live a it up a bit & adds lots of flavor. The traditional way of steaming the cabbage leaves a texture that you'd expect with rolls. Freezing it will leave the wrap rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Harrogate, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I will never try another stuffed cabbage recipe again! This was delicious! I baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes and I added some pasta sauce to the recipe because there wasn't enough tomato soup to cover the rolls. The final dish was great. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Aalderink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Says "works well in a slow cooker" but doesn't have directions for a slow cooker, it was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made these for the first time this last weekend for my boyfriend, who is Polish, and it's one of his favorite meals (Mom and Grandma made them, so I had some heavy competition!) I did some tweaking because I like to use more layers in flavor... I doubled the recipe so he would have plenty for the week :-) I used 1 lb lean ground beef and 1 lb spicy ground sausage, 1/2 c fresh minced onion, 1 tsp sea salt, 1 1/2 fresh cracked pepper, 2 TB brown sugar, 1 TB Worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp lemon juice, 1 cup cooked white rice, and about 1/3 cup of the tomato sauce mix. I made the sauce mix with 2 cans tomato soup and 1 large can of petite diced tomatoes. It made a lot of sauce, but these are best with plenty for the cabbage rolls and for sopping up with French bread slice, buttered, and placed under the broiler until lightly toasted. I placed the larger outer leaves on the bottom of the baking dish on top of 1/3 cup of diced tomatoes and layered the rolls w/half of the sauce mix followed by the remaining rolls topped with the remainder of the sauce and baked them at 350 for 1.5 hrs. These were a HUGE hit! They met the very biased approval of my boyfriend, which speaks volumes! YUM!! A few hints that really made a difference (from various reviews) is to parboil the cabbage and remove the leaves as they fall away from the head, as well as cutting out the spine in each leaves before rolling, as it made it much easier to roll them without the need for toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ely, Nevada, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
My husband is already asking me to make it again. I didn't boil the cabbage, and I cooked in a baking dish covered in foil in the oven for 45 minutes instead of the stove top method. This is definitely going on the dinner rotation, LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This was absolutely delicious and I was so proud of my first attempt at making the rolls. Grumpy loved them! I used ground venison and had leftover rice so I just used that (1 cup) as well as increased the onion (1 small) and added a good few shakes of Worcestershire sauce. My mom always baked these in the oven but I really like cooking these on the stovetop. Great method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I made mine with ground breast of turkey instead of the traditional burger. I placed the outer cabbage leaves on the bottom to prevent burning. On top of the cabbage leaves I added one can diced fire roasted tomatoes. I also crumbled up some garden herb croutons and added that to the turkey mixture. I topped the rolls with 2 Tbls. low salt tomatoe paste, then covered with the remaining outer cabbage leaves to keep al the moisture in. Put in the oven for 1 hour covered at 375 then 30 minutes uncovered. totally delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki Dore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States