Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I changed this recipe a bit myself. I browned the meat (I used ground turkey) with a small diced onion, 1 clove of minced garlic, 1 tbsp of dried oregano and 3 tbsp of fresh parsley. After I drained the meat mixture I added a can of tomato paste and simmered for 3 minutes. I then added the rice and removed from the heat. While that was cooling I blanched the cabbage 10 cabbage leaves - I did a couple extra in case some of them split before stuffing. Stuff the cabbage leaves and place seam side down in 13X9 baking dish. Top with tomato soup and bake in preheated 375 oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This recipe is a very good take on a classic and filling family dish. I followed the recipe exactly. The family all enjoyed the rolls and the unique sauce but still thought the stuffing needed some extra spice to it. Leftovers were excellent! A very useful tip: A very simple way to prepare the cabbage leaves for this recipe, or any other recipe which requires the leaves to be used as a wrap is to freeze the head of cabbage whole - it's like a frozen bowling ball! Then thaw the cabbage completely - it takes 1-2 days. Core the cabbage. The leaves pull away very easily without all the fuss and bother of the cumbersome boiling, cooling and sorting of cabbage leaves in the traditional method described. This method will reduce your prep time and effort considerably, minimize clean up time, and make the stuffing job a real breeze. You will never go back to the traditional method once you try this freezing technique. Try it yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I've never made anything like this before so working with cabbage like this was new to me. everyone ate it including my 3 yr old. We will be adding it to our go to list of hamburger recipes:) on a side note I wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook the hamburger before or not so I didn't leave it raw but mostly cooked. If anyone has done it raw and it worked out please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arileyj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe, almost my grandma's!! She used half beef and half ground pork. She also used crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
First time trying this recipe. It was easy, delicious and my family loved it. The only thing I did different was to make it with a tomatillo sauce instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This recipe is pretty basic and authentic; i have been making cabbage rolls (Halupki) for at least 40 years and learned from my Slovak father. Salt pork topped the pot! Tomato soup is very authentic; i have a Slovak cookbook from 1952 and those halupki recipes all call for tomato soup. My mother used to use Hunt's Tomato Sauce for hers, and so i like it better that way personally. A couple of suggestions to make it easier: take the cabbage and cut around the core; straight down, to cut where the leaves attach to the core. Put the cabbage in a pot, fill with water and bring to boil. You will see the cabbage start to turn a brighter color, you can then cut the leaves off the core and pull them off with a fork, as you use them, allow the cabbage head to sit in simmering water for more leaves to soften. As for the rice, we boiled water, added the rice, turned of the heat and let it sit for 3-5 min. then drain. Now it is par-boiled and you can add it directly to the raw meat, with a little tomato sauce, a LOT of salt and pepper and if you like, some onion and/or garlic powder. Two final suggestions; put about a half cut of water in the pot with the stuffed leaves, so that they do not scorch, and finally, add a few capfuls of vinegar to the finished product. The vinegar helps prevent "gas" from the cabbage, and also adds a little flavor. My family sometimes cooked any extra cabbage; when we ate it, we would use some of the pot sauce, a dab of butter(no saltpork) and more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I went with my gut(ha!) and cooked the meat before mixing it and it was awesome! Also i would up using tomato sauce intead of soup bc I was out. I just add garlic powder and basil to make up for using the tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My family has been making this since their days in Ukraine. If you're worried about fat, DON'T MAKE IT! LOL The best way to make this is with ground pork or 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork. The meat is much more flavorful and moist. Also, this recipe does not use bread crumbs or corn flake crumbs (I use corn flakes crumbs). It will be very dry ad crumbly if you don't use some sort of crumbs. You cut the bottom of the cabbage off to access the leaves (someone complained they couldn't get the leaves off the cabbage lol). Use lots of pepper, an entire onion and try some pasted garlic, just a little. Also, I use V-8 low sodium for the sauce. Don't be afraid to try different things and make the recipe your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was just like my mom's recipe. This has been a family favorite all my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kdgerhardt
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Try adding some garlic & Worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. It live a it up a bit & adds lots of flavor. The traditional way of steaming the cabbage leaves a texture that you'd expect with rolls. Freezing it will leave the wrap rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Harrogate, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 783) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States