Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I always find it amusing that many readers change the original recipe, so I decided to try it exactly as written. It was just so-so. I found the filling to be practically flavorless, and I highly suggest you put something else besides tomato soup on top. Should I decide to make this again, I will be changing and adding flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I used this recipe as a base for cabbage rolls. It was my first time making cabbage rolls, and I will definitely make again! I used an entire onion, and I substituted the egg with a can of plain tomato sauce. I followed the top reviewers suggestion and skipped the tomato soup (I don't really like it). Instead I used tomato sauce, lemon juice, and Worcestershire (like recommended), but I also added a splash of red wine, garlic, marjoram, oregano, basil, and a little sugar. I put it in the oven for about 45 minutes and topped it with Parmesan cheese. I was very impressed with the final result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I followed the recipe except where it called for the tomato soup, I substituted Marinara sauce. The tomato soup is way too sweet, imho, and throws off the taste of the cabbage. I also used a lot more spices in the filling, including a dash of cumin, a large pinch of Italian spices and just a couple of scrapes of a whole nutmeg. If you aren't used to cooking with nutmeg, it's mind blowing how many things you can add it to that really make the dish. Best way to test, grate a little bit of nutmeg over plain sauce and give a taste. We just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
First time making these. I added some Jimmy Dean Pork sausage to the mix for more flavor and to make 10 total. Also did 1/2c chopped onions instead of just 1/4c. For more flavor I added a bit of garlic powder. My family likes extra sauce so I added a whole can of Italian Stewed tomatoes to the mix. Served over white rice and steamed what was left of the cabbage head, carrots, and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amersss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
These were good. I thought they could use more flavour though. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to brown the ground beef first or not, so I browned it first to be safe. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Yummy! This was my first time making stuffed cabbage and they came out great! It was intimidating making these for my husband, especially since he is used to his Polish mothers cabbage. But he loved them! He even said they were better than his mothers. I did make just a couple of modifications. I added some italian sausage just because I didn't have enough ground beef. And I used tomato bisque with a can of diced tomatoes instead of just the soup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My family really enjoyed this classic recipe. I may have overdone the tomato soup but we like extra for our mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
just like my mom makes, except she bakes them at 350 first hour and reduce the oven to 300 for last half hour. love the tomato soup, use Campbell because its the best. she also uses 5 minute rice and just add to meat mixer, no cooking needed. I also add a half can of tomato soup to the meat mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Have never made cabbage rolls before. These were bland and and the sauce was tasteless. Will try again but will use more seasoning in the meat and tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
While tasty, it was rather bland. I will make it again, but I think I'll add different spices, and certainly more tomato sauce, maybe even Tabasco for flavor. Just one more thing to try to make better in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States