Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Was SO great! Everyone suggested tomato juice but since no one would drink the extra, I decided to use V8 juice mixed with a can of tomato soup. Used the cabbage leaves to cover bottom and top of the pan and the rolls came out wonderful! I mixed a little garlic in (about half a clove). Can't wait for lunch tomorrow to finish them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceidrelynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made or eaten stuffed cabbage. And it was delicious! The instructions didn't mention adding the water, so I forgot to, but it came out perfect anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I wish I would have read some of the other reviews first, next time I am using tomato sauce instead of tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I always find it amusing that many readers change the original recipe, so I decided to try it exactly as written. It was just so-so. I found the filling to be practically flavorless, and I highly suggest you put something else besides tomato soup on top. Should I decide to make this again, I will be changing and adding flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I used this recipe as a base for cabbage rolls. It was my first time making cabbage rolls, and I will definitely make again! I used an entire onion, and I substituted the egg with a can of plain tomato sauce. I followed the top reviewers suggestion and skipped the tomato soup (I don't really like it). Instead I used tomato sauce, lemon juice, and Worcestershire (like recommended), but I also added a splash of red wine, garlic, marjoram, oregano, basil, and a little sugar. I put it in the oven for about 45 minutes and topped it with Parmesan cheese. I was very impressed with the final result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I followed the recipe except where it called for the tomato soup, I substituted Marinara sauce. The tomato soup is way too sweet, imho, and throws off the taste of the cabbage. I also used a lot more spices in the filling, including a dash of cumin, a large pinch of Italian spices and just a couple of scrapes of a whole nutmeg. If you aren't used to cooking with nutmeg, it's mind blowing how many things you can add it to that really make the dish. Best way to test, grate a little bit of nutmeg over plain sauce and give a taste. We just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
First time making these. I added some Jimmy Dean Pork sausage to the mix for more flavor and to make 10 total. Also did 1/2c chopped onions instead of just 1/4c. For more flavor I added a bit of garlic powder. My family likes extra sauce so I added a whole can of Italian Stewed tomatoes to the mix. Served over white rice and steamed what was left of the cabbage head, carrots, and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amersss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
These were good. I thought they could use more flavour though. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to brown the ground beef first or not, so I browned it first to be safe. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Yummy! This was my first time making stuffed cabbage and they came out great! It was intimidating making these for my husband, especially since he is used to his Polish mothers cabbage. But he loved them! He even said they were better than his mothers. I did make just a couple of modifications. I added some italian sausage just because I didn't have enough ground beef. And I used tomato bisque with a can of diced tomatoes instead of just the soup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My family really enjoyed this classic recipe. I may have overdone the tomato soup but we like extra for our mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States