Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I tweaked this recipe. It is truly wonderful on a cold winter's day. I call it Eastern European comfort food. I parboil my cabbage leaves by placing them into boiling water for one minute. I then shut off the fire and leave them in the water, taking them out one bye one to stuff each leaf. They are not too hot to work with but this is a necessary step to allow for easy and pliable rolling. In a large bowl, I put 1 and 1/2 lbs of lean ground beef, unflavored bread crumb about 1/2 cup, 1 cup cooked rice, 2 beaten eggs,1/2 fresh green pepper finely chopped, half a small onion finely chopped, 1/2 cup golden raisins,zest of a lemon (for extraordinary freshness), 2 beaten egges, salt, pepper to taste. My sauce is started in a seperate pot- in 1 Tbs olive oil Sautee half green pepper, 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped add two cans of tomato sauce to one can of tomato puree, Juice of one fresh lemon, 1 Tbs of sugar and 1 cap of white vinegar. cook for about 1/2 hour. Preheat oven to 350. In a large baking pan ladle some sauce on bottom. Tightly pack your cabbage rolls into pan, you'll get twelve rolls into a large pan. Cover them with a bit more sauce. Cover with foil and bake 1 and 1/2 hours. It is a lot of work but worth it. If you are like me you'll love to be in the kitchen on a cold day cookin' away! Enjoy. Tip- If I have leftover meat and cabbage, I cook it in a large pot (the one the sauce is already in) making meatballs from meat mixture- I drop meatballs in raw to sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe is great if you use tomato soup mixed w/water. I triple the recipe and freeze some for a quick thaw at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
GREAT RECIPE JUST LIKE GRANDMA GOLUB'S. INSTEAD OF BOILING CABBAGE IT IS MUCH EASIER IF YOU PLACE THE CABBAGE HEAD IN THE FREEZER LET IT FREEZE THEN TAKE OUT AND LET THAW. THE LEAVES PULL OFF WITH EASE THEN STUFF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
868 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. I made it just as it was written except I added and extra can of tomato juice. Also, I baked it instead of on the stovetop. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This stuffed cabbabe recipe was very good. I doubled the recipe and added 1 diced onion and 2 cloves minced garlic. I cooked them with tomato sauce instead of tomato juice, and I also used a 1/2 cup of vinegar. My family really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This was much easier than I thought it would be. I sauteed garlic & onion before adding the beef to cook. Also, recipe says to boil cabbage for 15 minutes. That is not nearly enough to get more than 6 leaves off of the outside. The inside was still quite uncooked. Next time I'll cook for 30 minutes. Also, I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. It was very very good and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I tried this recipe this evening---it was the first time I ever made sufed cabbage. I used the suggestions of substituting spaghetti sauce, fresh garlic, dash fo sea salt and added some chopped onion. My husband's family is from Hungary and he sears he has never tasted anything better...thansk so much for the recipe. It was fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is the same recipe I have been using for 30 years, wouldn't change a thing. Everyone has different tastes and that's what makes the world interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
With a few twists (used fresh garlic, added 1 tsp sea salt to meat mixture, used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato juice, and baked at 350 for 1 1/2 hours)this turned out scrumptious. This is a fun recipe to experiment with--you are pretty much guaranteed a good result. The perfect comfort food for the fall and winter. Great as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I REALLY LIKED THIS, BUT I LIKE TO COOK MY FOR ABOUT 3-4 HOURS ON MED. TO LOW HEAT THE CABBAGE IS EASY TO CUT AND EAT, OVER ALL IT TASTE GREAT THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States