Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I was really frustrated by this recipe. I had no idea what this was supposed to turn out like, as I have never had stuffed cabbage before, but my family adores the ingredients in this so we though we'd give it a try. I wasn't certain if I was supposed to cook the ground beef or not because the recipe didn't say, so I erred on the side of caution and prepared this with it cooked. Garlic powder 'to taste' is not enough information for someone cooking this for the first time. I like garlic, so I added it liberally. It was still not enough. Again, not knowing what the flavor was supposed to be in the end, it was frustrating. The picture shows thick hearty sauce over the top, but it made no sense that that consistency could be achieved from just vegetable juice, vinegar, and sugar. But I trusted the recipe and positive reviews and made it how the recipe dictated. In the end, I had a sort of tasteless watery tomato soup with cabbage pods submerged within. It needed salt, badly. I will not be making this again. However, I will be making an extremely loose adaptation with a robust marinara or spaghetti sauce and chunky veggies; and lots of garlic, onion, salt and pepper in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My husband has loved stuffed cabbage all his life. I made this recipe and would not change a thing!!!! He said it's the best he ever had...Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
My first time making this. I was craving stuffed cabbage, even though I disliked it as a kid. Instead of calling my mom for her recipe, i used this. I could tell it was just a basic base for the dish, so I doctored it up just a bit. I used half g.beef and g.pork. I add some spices. garlic and such to the meat. I used plain tomato sauce, instead of juice. I like things saucy, so added a little more sauce than called for. Everyone ate it up. I'm making it again two days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Bland and too much rice.. tomato soup didn't help either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
BLAND! Good base recipe but needs much more than "garlic powder to taste". Lots of salt and pepper in the meat mixture. Also no need to cover with water, this made the sauce much too watery. If you cook with the lid on this will steam the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
this is a good one my mom was 100 percent Polish and mad them the same way just one thing differnt .She would use a pressure cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This recipe is very similar to the one that I make...with mine I use a dutch oven & then proceed to bake it in the oven on 350 degrees for about 1-1/4 hrs covered...remove the cover & bake for an additional hour. I also add in whole peeled tomatoes, use plain tomato sauce in place of the juice & in addition to the sugar, I sprinkle the top of the cabbage with brown sugar. Delicious. People can never get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Love the pics. We just love cabbage and today I wanted to do it different. Its xmas. I told my kid its just an inside out eggroll. And we love eggrolls. Meat and cabbage. Tomato sauce is just another great taste. I added a little onion and used rice a roni and ground beef. I can't wait, its Christmas and it smells great. I stuff the cabbage and will put the sauce on in the morning and bake. Not much oil so pretty low calorie. A great recipe.I just cooled the rice and beef and blanched the cabbage. Merry xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made stuffed cabbage for the first time today using this recipe trying to imitate my grandma's stuffed cabbage. This was a good start, a little bland and I ended up adding a few more spices to the tomato juice. I then called grandma and she told me she uses tomato sauce instead tomato juice to add a little thickness and some extra flavor. Everything else is pretty much the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States