Stuffed Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very nice. Also diced my squash into a casserole. Cooked wild rice in organic veg broth with the garlic and carrots. Sub'd kale for Brussels sprouts and skipped the milk -- used a few teaspoons of olive oil with the tamari and turmeric to coat the squash, chickpeas, green onions, and kale in the casserole. Added the rice to the dish after it was baked -- took maybe 30-45 minutes to cook the squash. Everyone liked it. It was also good topped with some shredded organic chicken breasts with roasted green chilies, diced onion, dried tomatoes (cooked with the breasts), oregano, and cumin, etc. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
soooo good! used brown rice, almond milk and peas instead of brussel sprouts because I didn't have any - but am excited to try them next time - doubled the tamari/milk sauce and added some cumin and cayenne with the turmeric. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramel0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My husband and I liked this recipe a lot! I really don't think I'd call it "stuffed" since you actually can't stuff it ~ you have such little room (where the seeds were) ~ it ends up sort of overflowing onto the top of the squash. No matter, still delish. I think I will make it as a casserole type of dish next time, as one of the reviewers stated. Just for ease of making it. The only change I made was using milk (all we had was vanilla soy...I don't think that would have worked so well;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
When I made this, my friend asked "since when did you learn to cook like this?" It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Yummy. I used teryaki/soy sauce instead of tamari and added peas (omitted brussel sprouts). Might as well just cook the rice in the sauce with the carrots though, and then trow the peas in the last 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was not the best. I like all the ingredients on their own but they did not go well together. My husband asked me not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
OMG!! This is so good!!! I made some changes based on what I had on hand. Used coconut milk instead of soy, peas instead of the sprouts, and brown rice. Also used 2 cups frozen butternut squash, which I boiled separately, added some sauteed onion, and cooked it all as a casserole. With the coconut milk, you could sub curry powder for the turmeric, though it was great with the turmeric. Will definitely make this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I loved this. I've made with both brown rice and basmati, and like it both ways. It's so nice to find a healthy, vegan recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Very interesting recipe! I liked the combination of brussels, carrots and rice, and also the idea of the chickpeas (but not so sure about the taste of chickpeas in this). However, I just couldn't add all the turmeric. I thought about an 1/8 tsp. was plenty. Any other seasoning suggestions? Curry was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Like other reviewers, I chopped up the butternut squash and put it in a casserole. I did not have Tamari so I substituted dark and light soy sauce. The stuffing/rice mixture was excellent. Our family was equally divided on whether we liked it or not. I'm thinking butternut squash is an aquired taste. I would definitely make this again but perhaps leave off the squash altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaJoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States