Stuffed Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand (garbanzo beans, carrots, sprouts, soy milk, tamari, turmeric) so I modified it by just using brown rice, a cup of frozen green beans, regular milk, and soy sauce. It was sooo easy to make and turned out very tasty. A nice romantic meal if you serve with two forks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
So yummy! I added a cubed zucchini as well to the veg. mix. My family, who usually notice when I cook without meat, were over the moon about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I converted this recipe to a casserole by chunking up the cooked squash and mixing it into the stuffing. We were taking it to a potluck and it just seemed like it would be easier to serve that way. I also subbed zuccini for the brussel sprouts, and used a cup of brown rice. Everyone really liked it, and my husband loved it! Considering how hard it is to get him to eat vegetables some days, that's quite an accomplishment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
It was good, however it came out very salty even though I added no salt. I addvise everyone to try to compensate the saltiness of the tamari sauce. The whole meal took 1:40 hrs. I advise to start baking the squash at least 30 minutes before everything else. My squash took around 1:25 mins to cook :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Like another reviewer, I didn't stuff the squash--I just mixed the cubed squash with the other veggies. I used brown rice because that's all I had. It was ok, tasty and filling, but not spectacular. Update: I added another star. I made it again, followed the recipe more closely, and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is a simple but flavorful recipe. I made a few changes though. I added a chicken bullion cube to the squash water. I used brown rice instead. Zucchini instead of brussels sprouts. Soy sauce instead of tamari. Curry instead of turmeric. I also added green pepper and green onion. My friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I've made this a few times now, and we really like it. It's pretty easy (just takes some time to cook the squash). I use soy sauce instead of tamari. Next time, I will cube the squash instead of stuffing it- seems that it might be easier to eat that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was hesitant to try this recipe, because it seemed unusual. I decided to go ahead based on the other reviews, and I am so glad that I did. We loved it! The only changes I made are the following: (1) I added a small amount of finely chopped onion, and sauteed this with the garlic before adding the other veggies. (2) I shredded the carrots instead of julienning them (3) I added some small broccoli florets (4) I did not cover the squash with foil when I baked it (gets plenty soft) (5) I added some shredded cheese on top after stuffing, and re-baked at 350 for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a very easy, filling and nice vegetarian recipie. I added some chopped onion as other reviewers suggested, and sprinkled some grated romano cheese over the top before baking the casserole. It is very tasty and I would definitely make this recipie again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Really good, but I added a touch more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States