Stuffed Breast of Veal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I used whole wheat bread instead of white, as I don't keep white bread on hand. I don't measure, so I'm usually a little heavy on the seasoning, but I followed the recipe. Only had to cook for 2 1/2 hrs then 30 min uncovered. Had a 4 lb with bone. Came out delicious. Meat was very tender. Stuffing was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is really a great recipe. There are not many recipes for this; but once you try it, you will love it. Very different. you do need a 5 lb veal breast for all the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is a recipe my mom made when I was a child. The stuffing is wonderful and can be used with chicken or turkey also. I did, however add sauteed spinach and roasted sunflower seeds to the stuffing mixture. Thank you for sharing this recipe and taking me back to a very happy time in my life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I love veal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My mom always made this when we were growing up, but took the easy way out. She would use Pepperidge Farms Stuffing mix and make that. Also, she would layer the top of the meat with bacon. For those who are not Jewish, give it a try, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I had 2 small 1 1/2 lb breast cuts so I cut the quantity of ingredients to accommodate. I used a filet knife to cut the pockets deeply into the meat and stuffed them full. I increased the temp to 425 degrees because I was under pressure to get this done. After 2 1/2 hours covered I uncovered for an additional 25 minutes..DONE! Perfect! Rave reviews, even from my mother-in-law. Recognizing the normally fatty content of this cut of veal, I knew that 3 lbs would serve no more than 4 or 5...Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntom52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This recipe is very tasty, but I had some questions about quantities. I had a 3.5 lb breast of veal with rib bones. I used half of the stuffing, which worked out fine. I baked it for 2.5 hours covered and another half hour uncovered. Everything turned out fine. Is the roast in the original recipe supposed to be five pounds boneless? That's the only way I can see it holding the amount of stuffing called for, plus feed 15 people. (Or maybe my family are just huge eaters!) In any case, this was delicious, and thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My dear mom, a first generation Slovak, made a similar version of this for Holy Saturday before Easter. She got the recipe from her mother who was a sensational chef. The recipe obviously has Slavic/Christian roots from Eastern Europe, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
while the stuffing is very flavorful and good, i felt the seasoning on the veal itself was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States