Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good recipe! I made it with a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce. Also, I used ground beef instead of TVP. Added 1/2 tsp of cumin for additional flavor. These are my husband's favorite as it is something his mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used barley instead of rice, 4 oz of ground beef for protein, and shredded mexican blend cheese vice mozzarella. I think the recipe would have benefited from some diced jalapenos as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Great recipe! I used chickpeas instead of the TVP and left out the onion. Will definitely make again and now I have an excuse to get those cute pepper-shaped single-serve ramekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was yummy! I used cilantro instead of parsley, leftover spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce and threw in a can of diced italian seasoned tomatoes about three minutes before I took the stuffing off the stove. Also, try parboiling the peppers before stuffing: wash and seed, then put the pepper shells into a pot of water and turn on the stove. Let the water come to a boil then remove the peppers and let cool til you're ready with the stuffing. The texture is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was quite good. I eyeballed the amounts of onion, pepper, oil, and veggie crumbles rather than measure it all out. I also added mushrooms and garlic to the onion/pepper mix. Will have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This turned out great. I used a combo of spaghetti sauce and tomato soup instead of tomato sauce and ground turkey instead of TVP, and I mixed the cheese in with the rice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Very tasty, filling and healthy if you use brown rice and definitely farmer's market peppers! The recipe calls for 2 cups of tomato sauce, which is a bit much. I also prefer mixing the cheese into the sauce. It works well with Boca soy crumbles or I suppose you could substitute ground beef or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used ground turkey instead of vegetable protein - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romulus, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
very good! i used brown rice and added garlic to sauteed veggies, added fresh corn, canned pinto beans and a fresh tomato from the garden and poured tomato soup on top. hubby loved too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Catawba, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I gave four stars b/c I did things different. All in all it was very good. I used red and yellow peppers (sweeter,prettier). I boiled the pepper halfs in water until tender,cooked the rice seperate. I sauted the oinion with a clove of garlic,1/4 tsp of cumin, thyme, oregano then added the tvp and salt and pepper. Stuffed the peppers w/cooked rice,topped with tvp mixture, topped with pasta sauce topped with shredded marble chedder cheese. Cooked until cheese was golden brown. This was the first time I used tvp and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States