Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I gave this recipe 4 stars because of the inattention to the amount of TVP. I like the recipe, however, 8 oz of TVP (weighed on a kitchen scale) would have ruined it. However, 1 cup,worked fine. After learning that the cup measure is for liquids, I weigh most of my ingredients. So, on my kitchen scale 1 cup of TVP weighed 3 oz. I also mixed 1 cup shredded cheese into the mixture, and I will sprinkle some on top after baking. I like this recipe for days when I don't want a heavier protein like meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
That was the first thing that also came to my mind...what on Earth is textured vegetable protein? Disregard my rating as I cant post this unless I give it a rating. Would like to make but dont know what this ingredient is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I think the vegetable protein is vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
My husband and I couldn't get enough! Will definitely make this again and again. Only changes I made were to use red peppers instead of green. Added some garlic, cumin, and Anaheim peppers and mixed in the mozzarella cheese with the filling :) yummy!! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Used red pep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janice Rivett
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I used brown rice and added black beans and yellow squash. The turn her nose up at everything child had two peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Rivett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
We substituted lean ground beef for the textured vegetable protein and used about 3 cups of tomato sauce. We like it saucy. ??. Otherwise delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Used some other reviewers suggestions such as using a can of beans for protein and 1/4 tsp. of cumin and garlic sautéed with the onion. I will try with some more spices next time. I used a wild rice blend. I was quite hungry and thought the peppers looked pretty cooked at 22 min. so I put some cheese (soy cheese for hubby and I) on, turned the oven off and let it set in the warm oven for several minutes. The peppers turned out to be a bit crispy still which didn't bother me, but I'm guessing they could've used some more cook time. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was pretty good. It was the first time I tried these and am pleasantly impressed. I added about half an ounce of red wine vinegar and a sliver of jalapeno to give it some edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was excellent, I added 1 1/2 teaspoons Italian sausage seasoning (available at a spice shop) when I added the TVP and omitted the parsley used an organic basmati whole grain rice, and everyone loved the flavor of the dish, this is definitely one to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States