Stuffed Baby Yorkies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this with about 2 cups of thinly sliced left over roast beef. I added about 4 teaspoons of horseradish to the beef and tossed it all together to lightly coat the roast beef. I also had some left over onion gravy from Sunday dinner that I used on top of the cooked Yorkies. I used my own Yorkshire pudding recipe (1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup flour, pinch of salt and 2 large eggs), which fills exactly one 12-hole muffin tin to my desired amount. I put the batter in the fridge for about 20 mins. I did not use oil - instead I lightly greased the whole tin with lard (using wax paper). I preheated the oven to 450 F and stuck the muffin tin in there for about 10 minutes. Right out of the oven, I evenly distrubted all of my batter in the 12 holes of the tin, then evenly distributed all of the beef/horseradish mixture in the 12 holes. I baked it for about 15 minutes (until about 2" higher than the top of the tin and the tips were heavily browned). Then topped the Yorkshire puddings with my leftover onion gravy. A hit! Thanks for a great idea / base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I wanted to use leftover, extremely rare primerib in this recipe so I diced the meat first and browned it quickly in a small amount of oil. I cut the recipe in half, using 2 whole eggs and 1 egg white in flour mixture and also didn't feel it was necessary to use an entire tblsp of oil in the muffin cups. Instead of a 12 muffin pan, I used a 6 muffin pan for bigger yorkies. These were baked for about 15 to 20 mins and turned out perfectly delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyDi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
These were great! I used leftover shredded roast from a beef dip and the Yorkshire rose up great around the beef. I made 6 large ones as this was our main course and it took about 25 min at 400. Definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent to eat and fun to make. I'm going to try it with ham and cheese next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great idea. I made them with my leftover prime rib. Delicious. I have a couple of suggestions; first let the batter rest, use 1/2 - 1 teaspoon of oil, bake until golden brown, maybe 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I'm not sure which rock I have been under, but I have never had Yorkshire pudding until now. This was super easy to make and I enjoyed watching them bake and grow. I took the advise of gizzysmom and looked up other recipes for Yorkshire pudding. I found one that only called for 3 eggs, 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of milk and 1 teaspoon of salt. I left the eggs and milk come to room temperature too. (someone advised that was important for them to raise the best)I used a half teaspoon each of oil and butter in the muffin tin and added roast beef and horseradish. They were good my husband even liked them. This did make twice as many as we could eat. I am hoping they will be just as good warmed up tomorrow. -nutcrackernut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Our son made these and they were ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
These sounded like a great idea but were a huge disappointment. The Yorkshire pudding portion of this recipe was the main problem. My usual recipe calls for 2 eggs to 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of milk. These didn't rise well and were more like eggy muffins gone wrong. I made them in order to take a picture but alas they were too ugly to photograph. They didn't rise well and they weren't crispy. Like others have said, it is essential to reduce the amount of oil called for or you risk a fire hazard. At the same time you have to make sure the sides of the cups are greased or they stick. It is a great idea but just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Yorkshire pudding should be light and fluffy. My English grandmother used 3 eggs 1 cup flour 1 cup milk and 1/4 t salt. then everything else is pretty much the same. Hot oil pour in batter, 400 degree oven bake 30 mins. they should rise up like popovers which is basically what they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I was looking for a way to eat up some of our leftover Christmas prime rib and this recipe was PERFECT!!! I made 6 since I wasn't sure my little ones would like them but they did too! My only pointer would be to put the muffin tin on top of a jellyroll pan because some of the oil spilled over. Thank you for sharing this recipe! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States