Stuffed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Yum! I did prepare the artichokes slightly differently. I thought the stuffing would get really soggy by the time the artichoke was fully done so I blanched the artichokes for 20 minutes over medium heat, removed and drained off excess water then cut off the stem and tops and removed the choke (the prickly center, do not remove heart). Then I mixed the remaining ingredients in a bowl and stuffed each artichoke with mixture, spreading leaves to stuff. Arranged them in pan with about 1 inch of water, covered with foil and baked for 30 minutes at 450 degrees then uncovered and baked 10 minutes more. Serve with a slice of lemon and sprinkled with more cheese and parsley. I would definitely suggest using olive oil or even butter in the recipe not just plain vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
387 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This is my dad's specialty, with a few changes! --->First, to make the stuffing use half Italian seasoned bread crumbs and half parmesan cheese with a little salt, pepper and one clove of garlic per choke. Then, MOST important, DO NOT, I repeat, do not use vegetable oil! You will make my poor Italian Nana spin in her grave! Use extra virgin olive oil (look for it to say cold press on the label). Drizzle the oil over the top of the stuffed chokes and steam until done. *~*How to eat the choke: Scrape the meat and stuffing off the leaves with your teeth until you get to the thin papery leaves. At that point you take a knife and cut at an angle around the edge of the paper white leaves. Take you fork and remove all the white feathery part and what you have left is the heart of the artichoke. Cut that into bite size pieces and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
There are many variations to this recipe and this is a good one. Be "generous" when stuffing, separating the leaves with your fingers. Stuff the center as well as between the leaves. This takes patience. When simmering the artichokes may sure the globes all fit snuggly together in the saucepan. The key is to prevent them from toppling over so that you do not have a soggy mess. You want to steam them so that the bread crumbs and cheeses meld together (SEE MY PHOTO). Make sure you used the grated Romano cheese and not the kind in the green can. The latter will "clump up" and not melt. TY for the recipe!! BTW, I used Italian seasonings instead and dipped the leaves in olive oil upon partaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I haven't seen any mention of the thick stems that are on the artichokes. I look for the longest stems and I peel away the outer skin and then chop them up and mix them in the bread crumb and cheese mixture. What a treat! They get just as tender.Also I apply chopped garlic as well.Been making them for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
These were soooo good although, I must delegate at least 2 of these stars to the other reviewers. I followed another users advice and boiled the artichokes for about 20 minutes so that I could scraped out the prickleys and the hairs. For the stuffing I substituded the italian bread crumbs for the cubed bread, much easier. Extra virgin olive oil trumps vegetable oil. Also, I added chopped pine nuts and basil. Then I stuffed and baked them in pan with about an 1 1/2 of water. Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipie is just like my grandma makes. The only thing I did differently was add a bit of chopped up salami in the stuffing (like grandma). I also used half chicken broth and half water with lots of garlic cloves to simmer them in. We use the juice to pour on them after. Thanks for helping me come close to home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
this recipe is excellent. It is how my great grandparents used to make them with just a couple alterations to make it easier for the cook and just as delisious. First, instead of using cubes of bread, use Italian style bread crumbs so then the seasonings of parsley and oregano are already in the bread crumbs so you don't have to add them. Second, slice the garlic very thin instead of mincing. The slices, if sliced thin enough melt into the artichoke as it steams. Third, use olive oil instead of vegetable oil and just drizzle slowly over the stuffed artichoke after stuffing. Fourth, use a mixture of parmesean and romano cheese to sprinkle over the top after the olive oil drizzle. This makes a wonderful kind of crust over the entire artichoke that is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is an excellent recipe for stuffed artichokes ("i carciofi ripieni") - a classic Italian dish whose proper preparation can at times be frustrating. An artichoke is the bud of a member of the thistle family. Tn the USA, global artichokes cultivated in California are those most frequently available . The really successful end result of a cooked, stuffed artichoke should provide leaves that are coated with almost homogeneously melted or amalgamated stuffing. However, all too often the end result may be disappointing. Although the heart of an artichoke is almost always delicious, the quality/ tenderness of the leaves may be otherwise. The ultimate success of any artichoke recipe (stuffed or non-stuffed)is absolutely dependent on the quality of the artichoke itself. Globe artichokes from California are available year round. However, I limit my guarded purchases to the peak season - from March through May. I seek fist-sized (no larger) artichokes that are deep green - not brown, are heavy for their size, and have a tight leaf formation. The globe should squeak when the leaves are pressed together. Lack of satisfaction with your preparation of stuffed artichokes, does not mean that you cannot enjoy artichokes - there are non-stuffed artichoke recipes that are simpler to prepare. Remember to include the trimmed stems in the recipe. When cooked, they will be as delicious as the artichoke heart itself - the cynosure of all artichoke lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Excellent!! Excellent!! Excellent!! I was looking for a recipe similar to the one my mom makes and this was the closest I came. Only thing I changed was I used 1 & 1/2 cups of seasoned bread crumbs and 2 cloves of garlic and I just added the oil a little at a time until I got the right "stuffing" consistency. I never knew how unbelievably easy these are too make! The whole family devoured these!! Including my 6 year old!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This is how I've always made them, give or take a smidge of each ingredient (we never really measure). They're fanstastic! (When buying the artichokes, look inside the leaves to see how meaty they are. Larger ones seem like they'd have more, which can be misleading.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States