Stuffed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Definitely save yourself the time and use Italian seasoned bread crumbs mixed with cheese and olive oil. It's easier to stuff between the leaves. I steamed them already filled in a steamer basket, then put them under the broiler for a few minutes to crust. My 3-year-old couldn't get enough. We dipped the leaves in unsalted melted butter. You don't need salted butter-the breadcrumbs add plenty. Also, scooping the choke out before you fill really saves you trouble when you just want to dive in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYJELLO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
YUK! TOO much stuff, TOO time consuming, NOT worth the hassel. I threw 2 out of 3 away. The only good thing about this recipe is that I figured out I can steam the artichokes in veggie broth in the oven instead of boiling them. Nothing better than the tried and true steamed/boiled artichoke dipped in lemon butter. Will NOT make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
There are many variations to this recipe and this is a good one. Be "generous" when stuffing, separating the leaves with your fingers. Stuff the center as well as between the leaves. This takes patience. When simmering the artichokes may sure the globes all fit snuggly together in the saucepan. The key is to prevent them from toppling over so that you do not have a soggy mess. You want to steam them so that the bread crumbs and cheeses meld together (SEE MY PHOTO). Make sure you used the grated Romano cheese and not the kind in the green can. The latter will "clump up" and not melt. TY for the recipe!! BTW, I used Italian seasonings instead and dipped the leaves in olive oil upon partaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipie is just like my grandma makes. The only thing I did differently was add a bit of chopped up salami in the stuffing (like grandma). I also used half chicken broth and half water with lots of garlic cloves to simmer them in. We use the juice to pour on them after. Thanks for helping me come close to home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This is my dad's specialty, with a few changes! --->First, to make the stuffing use half Italian seasoned bread crumbs and half parmesan cheese with a little salt, pepper and one clove of garlic per choke. Then, MOST important, DO NOT, I repeat, do not use vegetable oil! You will make my poor Italian Nana spin in her grave! Use extra virgin olive oil (look for it to say cold press on the label). Drizzle the oil over the top of the stuffed chokes and steam until done. *~*How to eat the choke: Scrape the meat and stuffing off the leaves with your teeth until you get to the thin papery leaves. At that point you take a knife and cut at an angle around the edge of the paper white leaves. Take you fork and remove all the white feathery part and what you have left is the heart of the artichoke. Cut that into bite size pieces and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Yum! I did prepare the artichokes slightly differently. I thought the stuffing would get really soggy by the time the artichoke was fully done so I blanched the artichokes for 20 minutes over medium heat, removed and drained off excess water then cut off the stem and tops and removed the choke (the prickly center, do not remove heart). Then I mixed the remaining ingredients in a bowl and stuffed each artichoke with mixture, spreading leaves to stuff. Arranged them in pan with about 1 inch of water, covered with foil and baked for 30 minutes at 450 degrees then uncovered and baked 10 minutes more. Serve with a slice of lemon and sprinkled with more cheese and parsley. I would definitely suggest using olive oil or even butter in the recipe not just plain vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This was very good. Only made a few changes...used olive oil and seasoned bread crumbs. These changes were personal preference only. Will make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I am VERY puzzled. There was no 'meat' attached to any of the leaves. We kept going til we reached the fluffy inner part, but there was nothing else there! Is there supposed to be a heart or something? I've never cooked artichokes before so I am absolutely clueless! The cheesy stuffing was tasty but other than that, there was nothing at all to eat! Thank gawd I only spent a dollar on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Excellent!! Excellent!! Excellent!! I was looking for a recipe similar to the one my mom makes and this was the closest I came. Only thing I changed was I used 1 & 1/2 cups of seasoned bread crumbs and 2 cloves of garlic and I just added the oil a little at a time until I got the right "stuffing" consistency. I never knew how unbelievably easy these are too make! The whole family devoured these!! Including my 6 year old!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I scaled the recipe for the 2 artichokes I bought. While I liked this recipe, and it is similar to my Aunt's, I would personally prefer more stuffing. I also would use bread crumbs next time, as it took me quite a bit of mashing to get the bread into "stuffing" size. But a tasty stuffing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 37cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States