Stuffed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
My grandmother made a similar recipe using a pressure cooker. Artichokes cook in 20 minutes and you can eat the bottom of the leaves and eat all of the tender leaves toward the middle. I remove the "choke" first to make more room for the stuffing. Also, slightly toasting flavored bread crumbs in olive oil with cheese, garlic slices and fresh parsley before stuffing really enhances the flavor. Delish! --Yams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was a great base for a stuffing - I did add more garlic but everything else was the same. I cooked as directed in a cast enamel pot and didn't have issues with them! The stuffing was so delicious and the artichokes were very tender - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristen grant
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe is great, just needs a little more. I minced up some black olives and added it to my stuffing. It doesn't give it a strong olive flavor but really makes a difference! I also grind up about half the stems and add it to the stuffing to make it thicker. Add a little lemon juice and pine nuts if you prefer too. Then I put chicken bullion in the pan with about 1/2 inch of water, then set the stuffed artichokes in the pan and covered with tinfoil. Baked at 375 for about an hour to an hour and a half. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Exactly how Grandma, Mom and I have made them for years with the exception of the Oregano which we don't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great! I used seasoned bread crumbs, garlic and cheese for the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trumpet Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Artichokes seem like a lot of work for such a little bit of food. All considered, I loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Pickles Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I use Italian bread crumbs and parmeson cheese and olive oil, not vegetable oil-no parsley either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I had not eaten artichokes in years, and when I saw they were on sale, I decided to stuff them. The process was very labor-intensive. It turns out that I'm not a big fan of artichokes, after all that work! (The stuffing was delicious though-- after all that cooking, it tasted very yeasty, the bread crumbs took a dominant flavor. It was almost beer-like.) My dining partner enjoys artichokes, and while he thought they were good, he said they didn't justify the work they entailed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I thought this was really good. It was exactly what I was looking for. My family wasn't overly thrilled with it, but I am an artichoke fan prepared this way! Thank you for sharing this recipe! It's similar to one that my grandmother would use and I plan on making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Great recipe. The only substitutions I made were I used 4 slices of multigrain bread and 2 cloves of minced garlic and of course, extra virgin olive oil instead of veggie oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States