Stuffed and Wrapped Chicken Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is a huge hit with my family. Instead of making the filling myself, I use chives and onion cream cheese. I also flatten out chicken. The salt in this recipe is way too much for us. I usually omit the salt and pepper. I also don't fry the bacon first. The bacon gets fully cooked in the oven. If I want it crisper, I just pop it in the broiler for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minot Afb, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I have made several variations of this recipe. The best in my opinion is to just use the chicken breasts, cream cheese, and green onions (or chives). Mix the green onions, cream cheese and stuff the chicken. Wrap in bacon (as many slices as needed to cover), secure with toothpicks and bake 25-30 minutes. We have also grilled these for about 5 minutes a side and finished off in the oven which has amazing flavor as well. I think these flavors work so well together it illiminates the need for all of the other ingredients listed. Instead of green onions, I've also pan seared some priscutto and used that with the cream cheese. It sounds like it may be too much of the bacon flavors, but it turned out really well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I didn't love the flavors in this dish as much as I thought I would. Definitely, 1 teaspoon of salt for the filling is way too much - especially with the salt seeping in from the bacon. I may try again with much less salt to see if that makes a different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This recipe was good. A lot of flavor! I did make a couple changes though. I added minced garlic and a handfull of breadcrumbs (I never was good at that measuring thing) to the mixture. Once I omitted the bacon and once I had secured the breast closed I brushed it with egg and lightly rolled it in bread crumbs. Came out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa & Jeffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was wonderful!! I did cut the bacon up into small pieces and mix it with the cream cheese. It was a little rich for me and will not fill it so much next time, but this is really good!! I forgot to add that I also used the cream cheese mix and stuffed jalepenos and cooked them in the oven with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
My family loved this recipe ! I automatically left out the salt and bacon, due to my husband's cholesterol problem...plus I flattened out the chicken breasts so that I could stuff them easier... All family members voted to do that one again...often... Grace...Vancouver, WA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have very mixed feelings on this. Season the chicken and find a way to contain the cheese mixture and you've got a full flavor, five star dish! However, as written the chicken is bland and flat, a blank canvas for seasoning of SOME kind. I used Penzey's Chicago Seasoning. The cheese mixture is richly flavorful, really delicious - I used garlic and herb flavored Boursin, omitted the garlic, and used multi colored bell peppers rather than just the red. I used no salt! The bacon was a snap to wrap around the chicken after microwaving it just briefly. I finished the chicken off under the broiler just to brown the bacon a little further, but unfortunately, as others experienced, much of that wonderful cheese mixture had oozed out. I'm not sure how this could be avoided, but it really detracts from the dish. As long as the cheese is going to ooze out anyway, this might just be better used as a sauce - saute the onions and peppers first, add the cheese and heat until melted. I'd give this dish five stars for its concept and for the combination of flavors, but three stars for lack of seasoning and faulty execution in the method. But even with its flaws hubs and I enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was a great recipe. I have never wrapped chicken around the breast before baking, but it sounded good. I added some jalepeno peppers and mozzarella cheese to the cream cheese mixture and WOW!! It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaNae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Tried the recipe last night. Very good. Used turkey bacon instead. Came out just as good. Am a diabetic so did not use the extra salt. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaVic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Made this for my family and they all came back for seconds. My hubby even said he did not know I was gormet. It was so very, very good. I placed the finish chicken over noodles. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States