Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Easy recipe. I'm just not a big fan of this type of squash. It is too stringy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is delicious! Like everyone else suggests, I mixed the ingredients first before stuffing the squash halves (I melted the butter first too.) One reviewer left out the brown sugar because she was worried that it wouldn't go with the savory seasoning in the stuffing mix...I don't know how it works, but the brown sugar makes it soooo good. As gross as it may sound, I was scraping the bowl of stuffing mix and licking the spatula after I filled the squash and put it in the oven. Instead of individually wrapping the squash halves in foil, I placed them in a shallow pie pan and covered the whole thing with foil. I liked the brown sugar flavor so much, I think next time I might sprinkle a little on top after baking and put them back under the broiler for a minute to get crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Very good! I added sausage and used cornbread stuffing with sauteed onions and celery. I went light on the brown sugar and we ended up adding more as we ate because it was a nice balance to the savory sausage. Will absolutely make again, even for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was a good change from the usual butter/brown sugar. But it didn't "wow" me. It was filling, but lacked flavor. It might work if you mess w/ the recipe a little, but I don't think I'll put in the effort on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I loved this. It turned out very nice! I ended up cooking everything in one pot then transfering it to the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murray
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Wow! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I really enjoyed the recipe, but would probably reduce the amount of brown sugar slightly in the future. I, like many reviewers, mixed everything together before stuffing the squash, and I also cooked covered with foil for half the cook time and then uncovered for a more crunchy top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Great texture, wonderful flavor, the recipe is somewhat hard to follow though. The amount of stuffing it makes is plenty for two acorn squash cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
We have been loving this recipe! We did bake it without the foil for the last half as we like a crunchy top. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Outstanding recipe! I made my own stuffing using celery, onions, garlic powder, onion powder, sage, 1 can of chicken broth plus 1 cup of hot water, and sauted everything for about 20 minutes, then poured everything over a 7.5 ounce of bread cubes and mixed well. I put about 2 heaping cups of stuffing in and on top of each squash half, after buttering and adding 2 tbs. dark brown sugar. I baked for 70 minutes at 400F foil covered, then 15 minutes at 400 uncovered Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States