Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was a neat idea. I used 3 squash. I put Savory herb stuffing in 1 1/2 c. beef broth instead of chicken as my main dish was beef. I used 1T. butter and 1T. brown sugar. I put them in a 9x13 casserole and covered the whole thing with foil. Thank you Weavre for a simple yet unusual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made this a few months ago and have saved it to my Recipe Box. Tasted great in a memorable way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goddess Chloe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My family loved this. I added 1 lb browned Jimmy Dean sausage as one reviewer suggested. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Used leftover Thanksgiving dressing and added browned Italian sausage. Wonderful topped with parmesan cheese and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is an awesome squash recipe. Usually I make soup or something else, but this was delicious! This was the entire meal, and filling as well as amazing! I left out the onion powder and went light on the garlic powder. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Duncan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious, and a wonderful way to do something different with squash! I gave it four stars instead of five because I do think the recipe needs a little altering. I followed a lot of the suggestions from the reviews. I prepared the stuffing ahead of time (used Stove Top's Savory Herbs mix) and also added about 2/3 of a tube of cooked and crumbled Jimmy Dean sausage to the stuffing. That was more than enough for two whole squashes. Next time I think I will melt down the butter and sugar ahead of time, too, and mix that with the stuffing. All the butter and sugar just spilled out of the squash and couldn't be enjoyed with the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Made as is written. Too much stuffing called for the acorn squash (enough for two squashes) so it was a bit of a waste, but other than that, the recipe was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I mixed the stuffing mix w/ chicken broth, frozen chopped spinach, mushrooms, and cooked & seasoned turkey sausage. The squash was tasty, but needed to be cooked extra time in order to get the squash tender enough. I will make this again, but will microwave the squash for a bit before stuffing them and putting them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stilltrusting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I do not like any squash, baked, cooked, steamed. Fried is pretty good. This is the best squash I have ever eaten and on this site there is a Baked Squash II that I can not wait to try. If it is anything like the first, I'll be eating at least one of these at least once a week. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States