Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
We had this at my son's house and loved it. He added Jimmy Dean sausage, pecans, and sauted onions and celery. There was enough stuffing for four squash halves. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Very yummy recipe - even my picky husband liked it! I did make some changes, though. I eliminated the butter and brown sugar altogether, and I mixed the stuffing ingredients in a separate bowl before adding them to the squash. For extra savory flavor, I added a little bit of feta cheese. I took the foil off about halfway through the baking. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I added some chopped onion instead of the onion powder. I used Stove Top for the stuffing. I took the foil off for the last 5-10 min. We liked it and will make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Outstanding recipe! I made my own stuffing using celery, onions, garlic powder, onion powder, sage, 1 can of chicken broth plus 1 cup of hot water, and sauted everything for about 20 minutes, then poured everything over a 7.5 ounce of bread cubes and mixed well. I put about 2 heaping cups of stuffing in and on top of each squash half, after buttering and adding 2 tbs. dark brown sugar. I baked for 70 minutes at 400F foil covered, then 15 minutes at 400 uncovered Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was so easy that i let my 6 year old make them for dinner. I got all the ingredients out for her and she followed the recipe to a T. They had a great taste. The only thing i would do differently is maybe poke some holes in the flesh with a toothpick the filling was very good but the way you pour it all in the sweetness only effected the very bottom of the squash. I would also mix the stuffing and the chicken stock together before filling them, this way all the stuffing is made, some of the top was completely dry. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Ok, I admit, I cheated big time with this but the end result was so good anyway! We feel that acorn squash is pretty sweet on it's own so I skipped the brown sugar. Here's where the cheating part comes in. I simply cooked the two halves of squash in the microwave, made Stove Top stuffing, added in some browned sausage to make it more of a complete meal, stuffed the squash and placed it in the oven for twenty minutes. Delicious Weavre and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
We have been loving this recipe! We did bake it without the foil for the last half as we like a crunchy top. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Yum! I haven't had acorn squash since childhood, and I didn't like it then! I thought I'd try it again - I left out the butter and brown sugar, since I didn't think they would pair well with the stuffing. Like others, I mixed the stuffing mix and other ingredients in a bowl prior to filling the squash halves. The squash was tender and perfect after 45 minutes. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
yum yum yum! I subbed the stuffing with couscous and had to decrease the liquid. delicious!!! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Very good. Doesn't say whether to add sugar and butter to the stuffing mix or not. So put butter in squash, then sugar, then stuffing mixed with broth, garlic powder and dehydrated minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States