Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was exceptional. Savory and sweet all at the same time and still works well. The ingredients it calls for seemed to be a tad too much but maybe we had small acorn squash? Either way, I made it work and it was good. Filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
We loved this - I did microwave the squash for 4 - 5 mins. before filling it - then I threw a bunch of seasonings into some cooked turkey burger to make it taste like sausage - sauteed some onion and garlic - poured some of the br. sugar/butter over top everything before putting it in the oven. Will be delighted to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was great! I added a 1/2 lb of sausage to the stuffing. I mixed the stuffing, chicken broth and seasonings all together and then stuffed the acorn shells. I topped the squash with Parmesan cheese the last 5 minutes of cooking. I had enough stuffing to stuff 2 whole acorns. It was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious! Great warm, Autumn comfort food. I sauteed some celery and an onion and then added some diced apples and added that to the stuffing and it was delicious. I also cut back on the butter (only used about 1 tablespoon) and it was fine! I mixed the stuffing beforehand as well as many others mentioned. Yummy! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I didn't have chicken broth so I used homeade vegeable broth. I also scored the squash as another reviewer suggested and rubbed the inside of the squash with a bit of brown sugar (my family has a sweet tooth). Also taking another reviewer's suggestions, I mised all the ingredients in a bowl (sugar and the butter that I melted) and then put it in the squash. I didn't have the garlic powder (we go through it a lot and I just happened to be out) and forgot about the onion powder. It was great without these things. Thanks so much for this recipe. It will be used again and again. Oh and I was cooking a brisket and had to hold these in the oven for about 80 minutes and they were fall apart tender. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was a neat idea. I used 3 squash. I put Savory herb stuffing in 1 1/2 c. beef broth instead of chicken as my main dish was beef. I used 1T. butter and 1T. brown sugar. I put them in a 9x13 casserole and covered the whole thing with foil. Thank you Weavre for a simple yet unusual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made this a few months ago and have saved it to my Recipe Box. Tasted great in a memorable way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goddess Chloe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My family loved this. I added 1 lb browned Jimmy Dean sausage as one reviewer suggested. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Used leftover Thanksgiving dressing and added browned Italian sausage. Wonderful topped with parmesan cheese and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States