Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by smartz
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was fantastic--my husband has always loved the classic squash w/ brown sugar and butter...but he went crazy over this! I didn't have stuffing mix so I baked a few slices of bread for a few minutes to dry them out, then cut them up and added to that some chopped onion and chopped apple! Then just combined with the chicken broth, brown sugar and butter. It was delicious and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I love this recipe, like other reviewers I omit the butter and brown sugar, but I do sprinkle some olive oil on top before putting it in the oven. I also omit the salt as the stuffing is usually salty enough. Wonderful, I have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Made this recipe on Thanksgiving and followed it exactly as written, except melted the butter and mixed all ingredients together and filled the squash halves. Used three small squash (6 halves) and had the perfect amount of filling. Lined them in a foil pan with a little water and covered the whole pan with foil as one reviewer suggested, and left the foil off for the last 15 minutes. Easy recipe and nice presentation. Would definitely make again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Just fixed this for supper tonight. My daughter, who as I was fixing it, proclaimed "I don't like squash" wound up "eating" her words. Now she wants me to make it a regular meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Ok, I admit, I cheated big time with this but the end result was so good anyway! We feel that acorn squash is pretty sweet on it's own so I skipped the brown sugar. Here's where the cheating part comes in. I simply cooked the two halves of squash in the microwave, made Stove Top stuffing, added in some browned sausage to make it more of a complete meal, stuffed the squash and placed it in the oven for twenty minutes. Delicious Weavre and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I wasn't sure what to rate this because I really didn't follow the recipe very well! I used homemade stuffing + added Italian sausage and really enjoyed it. I softened some celery and onion, mixed in some small bread cubes and chicken stock, along with the spices mentioned in the original recipe and the brown sugar and butter in the bottom of the squash. It was a great autumn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellent! My Both my husband and I liked this recipe. My squash must have been smaller than those called for in the recipe, because I had much more stuffing than I could use. Next time, I'll be sure to spread the brown sugar throughout the cavity of the squash. And it helped to mix the broth and stuffing mix together before putting it in the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was exceptional. Savory and sweet all at the same time and still works well. The ingredients it calls for seemed to be a tad too much but maybe we had small acorn squash? Either way, I made it work and it was good. Filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
We loved this - I did microwave the squash for 4 - 5 mins. before filling it - then I threw a bunch of seasonings into some cooked turkey burger to make it taste like sausage - sauteed some onion and garlic - poured some of the br. sugar/butter over top everything before putting it in the oven. Will be delighted to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States