Stuffed Acorn Squash Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Even if you aren't a fan of squash, this recipe changes the flavor completely. It's very tasty and I'm sure you'll find that everyone who has some enjoys it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Good, but I changed a few things as others mentioned: baked 2 squash each halved for about an hour then filled with one cup of brown rice, 2 italian sausage links removed from the casing and the rest of the ingredients minus the cheese. Husband loved it, but I thought it was missing a little something. Not sure what though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I love this recipe! This is my Fall, go-to recipe. It's tasty and wonderful! I substitute pork sage sausage for the turkey sausage and the added sage flavor really makes it spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I just added peeled, cubed and cooked squash to the filling. It tasted good and even better after sitting in the fridge overnight. Also , I needed hot sauce to add some heat and tang to the dish which I would have otherwise found bland.....but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was wonderful! I took another reviewer's advice and baked the squash for 1 hour at 350, with water and covered with tinfoil. I also added some butter and brown sugar to the squash. I *may* have overdone it with the brown sugar a little bit, but that's an easy fix. I omitted the butter that the rice mix called for, since I had put some in the squash. I also omitted the cheese topping. All I need to do is find a healthier rice and broccoli mix, and this recipe will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I really loved this recipe and so did my husband. I modified it by adding whole grain rice and using extra lean hamburger. I also put a dash of cayenne in it. Baked the squash. The corriander MAKES this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
OK. When my husband says 'this is good' before he takes the second bite, he really likes it!! That's what happened tonight when I served this. Let me just say you NEED the coriander. Otherwise it would be average. You could use ground beef, too. I used only half the stuffing for one squash/2 people. I froze the rest for another time. It's an unusual, but fun meal and it has it all; starch, veggie and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was excellent!! I'm just learning to like squash, and this recipe was great. I did substitute Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice because I didn't have any broccoli cheese rice. I used 2 hot Italian sausages instead of the breakfast sausage. I also skipped the coriander and added some Mrs. Dash Steak Seasoning to the rice while it cooked. I baked the squash for about 30 minutes, then stuffed it and baked it for another 30. I'll definitely try the microwave when I don't have time to bake it in the oven. This is definitely one to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Excellent! I also baked the squash (45 min @ 350)and then added the stuffing and cheese and baked for another 10 min. I substituted brown rice for the broc & cheese rice and it still turned out fantastic I also added some cranberries into the mix and a little pultry seasoning with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very flavorful and filling, I am not a big fan of fruit in things with sausage so this one could be just fine without the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECOLEMAN24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States