Stuffed Acorn Squash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Enjoyed the savory take on the acorn squash. Didn't have sausage on hand, but spiced up some ground pork with sage, a little cayenne, and salt and pepper. Imagine the filling would have been even better with pre-made sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This was an "OK" dish. My husband liked it but my grown son hated it. Then again, he prefers his squash sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bonham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I just used sausage, no hamburger. I also added mushrooms to the onion mixture. Hubby said he could eat it every night - LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I'm surprised so many people liked this recipe. I do a lot of cooking and I've got to say that these tastes just did not go together. Although the filling was good on it's own, the sweetness of the squash tasted awful with the spices and cheese. My boyfriend couldn't even finish it, and that's saying something. Sorry, I've got to give this a thumbs-down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Fairly easy to make and tastes good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
The squash was a little bit bitter, but the filling was very good. I will try his again and maybe use a different type of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is my favorite Autumn recipe and I've been making it for years! The flavors are excellent together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was WON-DER-FUL. Used ground pork (not sausage). Probably would add some rosemary, etc. next time for a little more flavor, but still was great. The savory filling with the sweet squash was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Of course the kids wouldnt touch this, but my husband and I liked it. I didnt care for the sausage as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
the squash is bitter, but add a teaspoon of brown sugar to the bottom before you add your sausage to it. It will make all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States