Stuffed Acorn Squash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by whiteje128
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
As with most things on AllRecipes, tweaks were made for what I had on hand and personal preference. I added quinoa (made 1/4 cup raw quinoa in a rice cooker with 1/2 cup water), substituted 1/4 lb ground turkey for the ground beef, kept the 1/4 lb pork sausage (hot), and used pepper jack cheese on top. I didn't use oil when cooking the meat, instead adding a splash of water and apple cider for liquid. Turned out AMAZING! Glad I found this recipe, for a meatier version of stuffed squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was an awesome dish. My mother and my husband (who hates Vegies) both requested that I do this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leslea
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I used ground turkey and Italian sausage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
this was an easy weekday dinner our 9month old son loved it as well. I didn't use cube cheese I just used shredded easy simple and so light on the wallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
We made it with veggie Field Roast sausage & welsh cheddar cheese. It came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Loved it, thanks for sharing. I added tomato paste as well, it kept the ingredients together and imparts a sweetness to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I had a couple apple bourbon brats left, so I chopped one finely and added to skillet after the hamburger and onion was done instead of using raw sausage. The possibilities are endless with this, cant wait to try with rice, yum, what a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Love this recipe - great comfort food for the fall/winter time! For 2 squashes (4 halves), I used a full pound of ground turkey and 1/2 lb of ground pork. I also used more shredded cheese. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
My husband and I both really loved this and my husband is a bit of a food snob and hard to please. I made it exactly as the recipe stated (I actually made the mixture earlier in the day and stuck it in the fridge) and it was great. Only "issue" I found was that I wish the squash had more room to hold more of the filling, we had some left over but there just wasn't enough room for anymore. I also found that 10mins in the microwave was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was surprisingly very good. I prebaked the squash in the oven for 40 minutes at 375 degrees. Added mushrooms, canned tomatoes, and a bit of the following spices: Cayenne Pepper, Celery Seed, & Rosemary to the meat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States