Strufoli II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Exactly as I remember. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This recipe was easy to follow and the results were great... light and fluffy. I added lime zest instead of lemon which gave a great zing to cut the sweetness of the honey. I also did not roll into balls prior to frying, and still ended up with round balls. The 4 serving recipe yielded 13 cupcake wrapper full. Also, I used toasted slivered almonds instead of pine nuts. This is perfect to serve with tea or coffee. I would highly recommend you try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I tried to copy my Grandmother's recipe. This was close, but not quite right. I was told that I should have cooked the honey longer to give it a darker color. It was not sticky enough, so the presentation was a flop.... literally. Very messy, too much work, not worth it. For those who attempt this, here's the best tip: When you roll the dough into "ropes", simply cut the ropes into the sizes you want them to be. Once you fry them, they will plump up into ball shapes. I wasted so much time shaping the dough into balls before frying them... a step that was completely unnecessary unless you have so much time on your hands that you don't know what else to do with your day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrixieDarty
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This dish is pretty good, I think I would like to make it again. Its not my absolute favorite but then again Im VERY picky! lol. Rolling the dough into little balls take FOREVER! I rate this a four because it is yummy but takes alot of time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieDarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satanta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
It was very good with a few substitutions! Instead of lemon zest, my family uses anise extract or anisette liquor. We usually don't add nuts, but I tried chopped pecans and it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron G.
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I was so nervous to make this, my Grandmother use to make it and I remember it being such hard work...this was so easy! Next time I may add orange zest instead of lemon just for a change. I omitted the nuts as my Grandmother use to leave those out as well. I made this as a surprise for my Mom, she is going to be pleased. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
We add a little whisky to our recipe and we also deep fry them in a shape of a bow tie. These are my favorite holiday cookie. Been eating them since I was a toddler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Excellent recipe...I left out the pine nuts, Lemon Zest, and put 1/2 Teaspoon of Lemon Juice. One reminder, when rolling the dough into balls (pardon) be precise not to make them to big. "Tiny"..otherwise you will have a mouth full.. Great Recipe. My family members and friends ate everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
i tried this recipe and it wasnt good...it was just missing something. Definately wont be making it again. I'll stick to my family's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaimeEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Stream, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States