Strudel Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aplaw723
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I hate to be so negative, but this was not a strudel dough. In fact, I don't know WHAT it would actually be useful for. Texture was bad (chewy, tough, doughy even after cooked). Tasted even worse, covering in cinnamon and sugar didn't make it edible. Had to scrape out my apple filling and go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
After waiting an hour for the dough to rise, I returned to the towel covered bowl. I slowly lifted it...hoping to see a soft and fluffy puff of delight... My excitement quickly faded as I looked at the fat, dense ball of pure disgust that was to be my strudel.I tried to sooth myself by saying "shhh shhh shhh, maybe baking the dough will make things better". It didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Just reading the recipe, I can tell it's not a strudel dough. I have to agree with Spatz. I used to help my mother with the many folds of dough and very cold butter. Was not as easy as this recipe. The phyllo in stores today are the strudel dough of years ago, and really, really home cooking. My mother came from Romania near the Hungarian border, and her cooking more resembled Hungarian than Romanian. The dough also can be stretched thin and then with a pastry brush and melted butter brush butter between layers. Must work very quickly, or dough becomes brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe perfectly, it is unrollable, and thickens when cooked. Virtually tasteless, definitely needs some revision. Tried it once, won't ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is an excellent tart dough and you can make blueberry to apple tarts with this. We did both a peach and apple tart and it came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHUMBURG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is the noodle dough I use to make mom's strudela recipe. The trick is to make sure to let it set for at least an hour so that it is easier to work with and be able to stretch it thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This dough was so dry, tough, and bland, it was really disappointing. If I had it to do over again, I would have chosen to cut butter into the dry ingredients like you would a pie crust, to help it be more flaky, but I likely won't even bother trying this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is NOT a strudel dough! A strudel dough is traditionally stretched so thin that you can see newsprint through it. Phyllo (filo) is very similar to it. It is not possible to roll dough out even close to thin enough to be a true strudel dough. This is a pastry dough, yes, but most certainly NOT a strudel dough by far! If you want something traditional, seek elsewhere
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Super easy dough... simple ingredients I had around the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
we made this with minute steaks and velveeta and it was delicious. The dough was easy and had a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radarslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Knead Dough

Watch how to knead dough by hand with these simple step-by-step instructions.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States