Stroopwaffels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Made these cookies today. Easy to make used my stand mixer. Used a Pizelle maker to bake cookies. When they were just out of the maker I split them with a filet knife. Be careful as they still will be quite hot to touch. Insert blade in cookie and give it a turn as your cutting them in half. Cooled down cookie on a wire rack while making filling and let that cool prior to adding to cookie. We are celebrating the Netherlands this Thursday. My daughter in law home schools 2 out of their 4 children and every week we go to another country and cook a complete meal for lunch. Tasted a broken one, wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I made these tonight for my son's school project. He had to bring a dutch dish to school. I didn't have a Prizelle or a Waffle Cone Iron, I only have a regular waffle iron. I went on a search in town for the other types but had no luck so I figured I'd just give it a go regardless. They are delicious. I had to cut the waffle in half with a knife as they aren't as thin as they would be with the proper iron but the general idea of them is the same and I imagine the taste is the same as well. Anyone wondering if you HAVE to have the proper iron.. no.. but I'm sure they would be even better if done properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I want to ask if anyone has ever tried making the cookie in just a fry pan? I do not have a Pizelle or a waffle cone maker either and NO money to buy one. I have been wanting MORE of these cookies for years. A chat friend brought me a package of them when he came to visit me. Well, when I took my first bite (not expecting much) I was so in love with them I did not stop eating till they were gone. Then I thought I would cry. Thank you so much for this recipe. My Dutch friends sent me a recipe, but to translate it into US measurements was not really clear (treacle) and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
this was exactly the recipe I needed. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Ok. These are wonderful but not as easy to make as some of the better cooks have described. Let me explain my mistakes so anyone else who wants to make these fabulous treats won't do what I did. First, I did not have the ingredients to make the filling, so made the cookies in the pizzelle one day. Splitting them apart is not difficult, but not all the cookies split evenly -- so they did not look very pretty. I put them in a airproof container with a papertowel between layers of cookies. The problem is they harden just a bit once cool. So, when I made the filling today and pressed the top cookie on top of the bottom, the top broke -- on almost all of them. The cookies were not pretty but they sure were tastey. I did follow what one user did and just put two full cookies together -- it was good but too thick and cakey for my taste and not authentic. My dad was born in Holland and I visit family often over there. If anyone has suggestions on how to split the pizzelle's evenly, it would be greatly appreciated! Regardless of how ugly my cookies turned out, the recipe is the real deal and the cookies tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Delicious! They can be made in a waffle cone maker and cut with a round cookie cutter. I yielded 24 three-inch waffels and about 8 2-inch waffels, which helps bring the calorie count way down. These are a lot of fun to make, and I think they're going to make a nice Christmas gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I took these to a meeting, they were just great ! I did add some ground walnuts and some coconut. Not a lot, but enough to boost the caramel flavor up a notch !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I tried these in Denmark and loved them so I was delighted to come upon this recipe. These were very good, easy to make. I did not cut the cookies in half to put the filling in- I used two and made it a sandwich cookie with the filling. They taste just like the ones I brought home (I saved a few to compare). I added cinnamon to the dough and only made 2/3 of the filling. I also substituted one cup of whole wheat flour to make the dough a little darker and heartier. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I haven't tried making these yet, but I just love Stroopwaffels from Holland! My Aunt went there and brought home two small boxes. I fell in love with them straight away! Never thought of finding a recipe, then lo! and behold, here's one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andSahar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Quezon City, Quezon, Philippines
Living In: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
20 years ago I spent time in the Netherlands, and ever since then I have searched for a stroopwaffels recipe. I was thrilled to find this; and these cookies are just like the real thing in Holland!! Now my family loves them as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States