Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
The guys loved it. Definately making this again. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
This recipe was a hit with my husband, who is from Scotland and had never heard of stromboli. It was delicious and very easy to prepare. I used frozen pizza dough, so the only part that took time was waiting for the dough to thaw. We'll definitely have this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I decided to make my own dough, using my bread maker. It was really easy. To make the dough, use: 3/4 c. lukewarm water, 1 tbl. oil, 2 1/4 c. whole wheat flour, 1/2 tsp. sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 2 tblsp. yeast. Use the dough cycle and voila! I also added 1/2 tsp. each of fresh oregano, basil, and rosemary to the dough to add a little extra kick. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Great recipe! I'll definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This has become a weekly meal for our family. I use the bread machine dough recipe included in these reviews. However, I use 2 tsp instead of 2 Tbsp of yeast. This is a very easy and quick meal that kids love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
GREAT NEW RECIPE!! I used 1 lb of mild Italian sausage, a 1/2 cup more pizza sauce and some cheddar cheese in addition to the moz. I had alot of extra meat/sauce mix and I'm pretty sure that if I would have had the pizza dough available, I could have made two. I might try that next time...because we all agree this should be made again. Thanks so much Jessica! It's a neat spin-off from your typical pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This recipe was THE BEST stromboli I have ever had. Although, I haven't had many stromboli, this was the first one I have ever made and it was GREAT! I think the sauce mixture was what made it great. I left out the mushrooms because I HATE them, and it still turned out wonderfully. And yes, you will have left over sauce. And i even cut the sauce in 3/4. Cook time is wonderful because it doesn't take long at all. Thanks for sharing the recipe jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Delicious. Next time I'll try making my own dough. I did make my own pizza sauce, which included using green pepper, sliced mushrooms, and an onion, so I didn't follow this recipe exactly. For filling: used some extra sliced mushrooms, not canned, 1/2 lb. sausage, cut into small chunks, 1 cup ground turkey, only 3 oz pepperoni (gets too greasy), and some broccoli. When the sausage was almost browned, I threw in the sliced mushrooms and broccoli to soften them a bit. I also brushed olive oil on the top instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Well i am the one that submitted this. I am so gald that everyone enjoyed it. My husband is also from Scotland so it was for me to bring something from home to here. I live in a village called Broxburn where no one heard of alot of this stuff. I am happy that everyone likes it and please if you have any questions don't hesitate to ask. Use what you want it in it. This is a good way to get kids to eat veggies. My mom used it and i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY-STAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Very quick and easy stromboli recipe!! It is really good, too!!! I used mild sausage in place of the hamburger. I only put the peppers & onions on one half, since my son doesn't like them. I also used 4 different cheeses. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindie1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States