Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I've been making this for years. I've read a lot of reviews where people complained the dough was soggy. The key is to put in a layer of cheese, then your toppings, a spoonful of sauce, then more cheese. The cheese melts and makes a barrier for the sauce. Also, be careful not to get the sauce near the edges or the dough won't seal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
369 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This turned out very well. However, I would note that (at least in my oven at 400) 30 minutes is too long. 20 minutes did it for ours. I didn't like the crust but, of course, that is to be blamed on the brand of crust I chose (a generic store brand - you live and you learn) and not the recipe itself. While eating it, I thought that instead of brushing the stomboli with butter, perhaps garlic butter might have given the crust more flavor. Regardless, this is a great recipe. The possibilities are endless and limited only by your imagination - adding whatever fillings you like. It was a top notch recipe for a family favorite! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
I decided to make my own dough, using my bread maker. It was really easy. To make the dough, use: 3/4 c. lukewarm water, 1 tbl. oil, 2 1/4 c. whole wheat flour, 1/2 tsp. sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 2 tblsp. yeast. Use the dough cycle and voila! I also added 1/2 tsp. each of fresh oregano, basil, and rosemary to the dough to add a little extra kick. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Excellent recipe. You can use crescent dinner rolls....2 cans of 8....for the crust. The filling is really versatile...can change it. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I made stromboli from scratch only one other time and never did it again because it was too much trouble for a weeknight meal. I love this recipie because it's so easy to do, and tastes great. I made mine even easier to do by just lining the dough with pepperoni, green pepper, onions and topping it off with sauce and cheese. The family loved it! The veggies were fork tender but still had a little crispness to it. Thanks Jessica for a great new recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
GREAT NEW RECIPE!! I used 1 lb of mild Italian sausage, a 1/2 cup more pizza sauce and some cheddar cheese in addition to the moz. I had alot of extra meat/sauce mix and I'm pretty sure that if I would have had the pizza dough available, I could have made two. I might try that next time...because we all agree this should be made again. Thanks so much Jessica! It's a neat spin-off from your typical pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This recipe was delicious, quick and a simple way of getting veggies into your kids (& hubby for that matter! :)). Instead of making one giant stromboli, I split the pizza dough into 4 pieces and made smaller versions. I used 6 oz of fresh mushrooms but the same proportions of everything else and found that I had at least a cup of leftover filling that I used w/ pasta the next day. Also I found that 1/4 c butter is a LOT. I used 2 tbs and that was plenty to saturate & glaze the strombolis. THey were just as yummy reheated in the oven the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was really yummy and fun to make. We bought a large ball of pizza dough from the bakery section of the grocery store, so we had plenty of room for all the sauce and extra cheese. We added pepperoni, black olives and ground sausage. I'm definitely going to make this again, but next time with ground beef instead of sausage (it was a bit too rich). Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Delicious and easy to make. I bought a 13.8 oz pizza crust and used all the mixture. When I browned the ground beef, I threw everything else in there for around 7 minutes to soften up the vegetables and let the flavors blend together. This recipe only calls for half the pepperoni they suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
this was great. I used olive oil and mixed garlic powder and Italian seasoning. I brushed that on the inside and outside of the Stromboli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelycook89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States