Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Made a few adjustments, but a great base. I used chicken instead of beef, added green onions instead, some Riesling and more paprika and chopped Portobello mushrooms. And it turned out excellent for me, thanks for sharing your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Fine for a simple weeknight meal. Family liked it alright but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
They have the right concept but all wrong. If you cook this recipe exactly you will be disappointed. I started off attempting to follow along until I realized the recipe does not want you to drain the meat. Ground beef produces a lot of grease. You will have a slimy mess. Here is what I did. I added garlic powder to the meat while cooking like most other reviews, drained the meat, added a little water and flour to make a roux, added two cans of cream of mushroom soup, and 1 cup of sour cream. Once I cooked the noodles I needed to add a little more milk to make it creamy. Overall, not a very user friendly recipe. You will need to have some common knowledge of cooking in order to make a dish you can actually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very bland, and I did not use the flour as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
As is, this recipe is 1 star, but with adjustments it could be a 4 star, thus the 2 star rating. I started making as written, but realized that the sauce wouldn't have worked out the way it is. In the end I couldn't tell you how much milk I added to the sauce, I just kept adding it as the sauce thickened. My family enjoyed it, but I think I'll look for another stroganoff recipe that doesn't need tweeking so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great recipe if you want something fast and simple. I started the water cooking and then started frying the meat and onions. I followed the recipe but had a few changes. My kids do not like sour cream so I used cream instead. when the noodles were cooked I just added the sauce to the noodles for easy service. We had to add more salt and since I love pepper I had to add pepper. For a crunch my kids added fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I usually don't rate recipes unless I prepare them exactly as written but I had to comment on this one. First of all, I was disturbed by the amount of grease this produced and you don't drain it off. I couldn't help myself... I was scooping it off (and this was AFTER the soup, flour, and seasonings were added). Like other reviewers I added some garlic powder and also some beef base. When the sour cream was added I was relieved because the grease was gone and it looked and tasted like stroganoff should. I don't think I'll make this one again but thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajzmama
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
It's big hit in my house hold. Especially for my picky eater. It's super easy to make. Which is a plus, also a mom to a mobile 9 month old. Instead of using macaroni like the recipe requests. I used bow tie noodles-which worked even better. Again super easy and highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajzmama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Rimrock, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very very tasty! Cooked it for my pot luck at work and had a few compliments. Instead of using cream though I would suggest using sour cream mixed with small curd cottage cheese. Sounds a little crazy but itll give it a smoother and more creamy taste. Also I like using a half stick of butter to mix in with it, itll keep if from making that glue like paste. If you want to spice it up a bit a used tomato bisque soup mixed with franks hot sauce since I put that on everything, the tomato bisque will tenderize the meat to perfection and you cant even taste it in the end result. Another thing I would like to add is packing some artichoke hearts in there then baking the stroganoff for 15 min on 450, itll give it a very tasty crust which makes the meal a ton better! Happy cooking, this recipe is a family recipe passed on by my grandmother, its very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Love it! Added some red pepper flakes for some kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States