Stroganoff Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Susanna
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised by how good this was. My loaf of bread might have been bigger, as 1 1/2 lbs of beef was barely enough. As others suggested, I added a packet brown gravy mix to the beef. I made this in advance to warm later so decided to scoop out the bread, spread the loaf with garlic butter and toast it. I then loaded it up and refrigerated it until dinner time. I then put it in the oven at 300 to warm and then broiled the top until the cheese was bubbly. My 17 year old son at one of the halves all by himself, while my hubby and I shared the other. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This recipe is mouthwatering, just reading about it. Cannot wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Extremely delicious. My husband loved them and so did I. Instead of ground beef, I used the "heat and eat" Hormel Beef Tips and Gravy and threw it in the pan where I added the sour cream in and other seasonings. I used lots of white onion instead of green and omitted the green peppers. Used cheddar and monteray jack cheeses. The tomato is what makes this sandwich come to life. AWESOME ADDITION TO MY COLLECTION. THANKS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Messy but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
My family does not like green peppers, but that is the only think I left off. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I have made this recipe for years. One thing I have found that works well is instead of buying french or itlian bread loaf I buy individual crusty hogies found in the bakery at the grocery store. It makes the sandwich more managable to eat, especially for my kids. I also make this to take to parties and I use 2 long thin baguettes. When you slice them it is perfect bite size pieces. They get ate up quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Delicious!!! My fiance and I both really enjoyed these. Made a few minor changes... I didn't have green pepper so I omitted that, added some fresh mushrooms to the meat mixture, doubled the worcestershire sauce, and used hoagie rolls. Instead of garlic powder, I used fresh garlic that I sauteed with the meat. They turned out *really* well, I'll make these again. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMBrsl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My husband, kids and I loved this. I made it exactly as the recipe is but added red peppers to it. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaMarker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Corinth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This recipe made great sandwiches! Everyone in the house loved them. I did add a little more garlic powder and worchestershire sauce, and a beef bouillon cube to the milk. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States