Striped Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is the perfect lazy person potluck dish. You have to try hard to screw this one up. I prefer it with a graham cracker crust instead of the oreos because the saltyness of the graham crackers goes well with the rest of the sweetness in the dish. People eat it up and then ask for the recipe...Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andiestar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
While it goes by many names with infinite variations, this is the original, and even after many, many years it still remains my son's favorite (he's now 28!). Try a graham cracker or shortbread crust, pistachio or other flavor pudding, or even two different flavors of pudding, each with its own layer. Son's favorite is with a graham crust, and one layer each of chocolate and vanilla. I've found that 3 cups of milk works better than 3-1/4 cups, and I garnish the top with shaved chocolate curls. Another favorite variation is with vanilla pudding, layered with bananas and/or strawberries! The possibilities are almost endless and all delicious. This goes FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I have been making a version of this for years, my family loves it. I like to make this with graham cracker crumbs instead of the cookie crumbs and don't forget to top with cool whip. This is a cool refreshing dessert any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIE ALVAREZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is always a hit. At Christmas time, I add a few drops of peppermint extract to the cream cheese mixture, then add crushed candy canes sprinkled on top. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I received this recipe from a friend a while back, and have made it a few times. It is always a hit. I use 1/3 less fat cream cheese, light cool whip, and the sugar-free/fat-free pudding mix with skim milk. It is delicious. I also top with some more crushed oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Just made this today and everyone LOVED it. I sprinkled crushed heath bars on top once I was done putting everything together. I am so making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
My son loves this so much he called it the "stripes of goodness". Made as written and wouldn't change a thing, except to possibly try the 'peppermint/candycane" version submitted by another reviewer. So good that family was taking secret helpings - gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Cannot give less than 5 stars. Everyone loved this at Christmas Day dinner. I've made it before and learned that if you wrap a hot washcloth on the bottom of the pan, the slices come out easier (I found this to be a better tip than freezing it for an hour). This dessert is very rich so I'd suggest starting with a small piece and going back for more, rather than serving huge slices at first. I used only 25 Oreo cookies and 3 tablespoons of melted butter - worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this for the first time last night. It was simply delicious. I didn't think that the creme cheese mixture was quite enough so next time I will double it. If you need a chocolate fix, this is the recipe to try. Family has requested it again already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
LOVE it and so do my friends at the firehouse. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle2073

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States