Striped Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
While it goes by many names with infinite variations, this is the original, and even after many, many years it still remains my son's favorite (he's now 28!). Try a graham cracker or shortbread crust, pistachio or other flavor pudding, or even two different flavors of pudding, each with its own layer. Son's favorite is with a graham crust, and one layer each of chocolate and vanilla. I've found that 3 cups of milk works better than 3-1/4 cups, and I garnish the top with shaved chocolate curls. Another favorite variation is with vanilla pudding, layered with bananas and/or strawberries! The possibilities are almost endless and all delicious. This goes FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is always a hit. At Christmas time, I add a few drops of peppermint extract to the cream cheese mixture, then add crushed candy canes sprinkled on top. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Delicious, quick and easy. Out of all the gourmet and time-consuming desserts I have made for the office, this one received some of the best reviews! I opted to use as many sugar-free, fat-free, low-fat ingredients as I could find. Nobody believed me when I fessed up; they're fussy and prefer as many calories and fat as possible! I sprinkled the top with more crushed Oreos. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was fantastic, although I found the Oreo crust to be a bit too rich for my taste. I might use fewer cookies next time to make the crust a little thinner. The layers set nicely, though, and the final product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
The pudding I used had been in my cabinet forever & never got firm after 24 hrs.(Guess that was the reason??) So, I poured/mopped it off, then I melted a bag of Hershey's Almond/Toffee Nuggets, added the remaining whipped topping & refridgerated it. Everyone who tasted it RAVED about it! Am sure it would be great w/the pudding but think I like mine better. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I received this recipe from a friend a while back, and have made it a few times. It is always a hit. I use 1/3 less fat cream cheese, light cool whip, and the sugar-free/fat-free pudding mix with skim milk. It is delicious. I also top with some more crushed oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I froze this at first, but it tasted too icy. So I thawed it in the refrigerator and it turned pretty soft and gooey, but still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is the perfect lazy person potluck dish. You have to try hard to screw this one up. I prefer it with a graham cracker crust instead of the oreos because the saltyness of the graham crackers goes well with the rest of the sweetness in the dish. People eat it up and then ask for the recipe...Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andiestar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I have been making a version of this for years, my family loves it. I like to make this with graham cracker crumbs instead of the cookie crumbs and don't forget to top with cool whip. This is a cool refreshing dessert any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIE ALVAREZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Oh, how I wish I had a photo of this! I made it twice: once to test the recipe, a second time to use it as a dessert special for St Patricks Day. The first time: I subbed real whipped cream for cool whip, used more cookies for the base, added creme de menthe to the cream cheese layer. Second time: again, subbed real whipped cream and made a chocolate mousse instead of the pudding, added mint extract to the cream cheese layer and tinted it green. It went over really well at the restaurant! Disguised as a rather modest dessert, this really hit a home run with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States