Striped Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I have been making a version of this for years, my family loves it. I like to make this with graham cracker crumbs instead of the cookie crumbs and don't forget to top with cool whip. This is a cool refreshing dessert any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIE ALVAREZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is always a hit. At Christmas time, I add a few drops of peppermint extract to the cream cheese mixture, then add crushed candy canes sprinkled on top. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I received this recipe from a friend a while back, and have made it a few times. It is always a hit. I use 1/3 less fat cream cheese, light cool whip, and the sugar-free/fat-free pudding mix with skim milk. It is delicious. I also top with some more crushed oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
The pudding I used had been in my cabinet forever & never got firm after 24 hrs.(Guess that was the reason??) So, I poured/mopped it off, then I melted a bag of Hershey's Almond/Toffee Nuggets, added the remaining whipped topping & refridgerated it. Everyone who tasted it RAVED about it! Am sure it would be great w/the pudding but think I like mine better. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was fantastic, although I found the Oreo crust to be a bit too rich for my taste. I might use fewer cookies next time to make the crust a little thinner. The layers set nicely, though, and the final product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is the perfect lazy person potluck dish. You have to try hard to screw this one up. I prefer it with a graham cracker crust instead of the oreos because the saltyness of the graham crackers goes well with the rest of the sweetness in the dish. People eat it up and then ask for the recipe...Worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andiestar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Just made this today and everyone LOVED it. I sprinkled crushed heath bars on top once I was done putting everything together. I am so making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
My son loves this so much he called it the "stripes of goodness". Made as written and wouldn't change a thing, except to possibly try the 'peppermint/candycane" version submitted by another reviewer. So good that family was taking secret helpings - gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Cannot give less than 5 stars. Everyone loved this at Christmas Day dinner. I've made it before and learned that if you wrap a hot washcloth on the bottom of the pan, the slices come out easier (I found this to be a better tip than freezing it for an hour). This dessert is very rich so I'd suggest starting with a small piece and going back for more, rather than serving huge slices at first. I used only 25 Oreo cookies and 3 tablespoons of melted butter - worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
While it goes by many names with infinite variations, this is the original, and even after many, many years it still remains my son's favorite (he's now 28!). Try a graham cracker or shortbread crust, pistachio or other flavor pudding, or even two different flavors of pudding, each with its own layer. Son's favorite is with a graham crust, and one layer each of chocolate and vanilla. I've found that 3 cups of milk works better than 3-1/4 cups, and I garnish the top with shaved chocolate curls. Another favorite variation is with vanilla pudding, layered with bananas and/or strawberries! The possibilities are almost endless and all delicious. This goes FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States