Striker's Potatoes O'Brien Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Hey everybody, I fixed the "sticky" problem! After dicing the potatoes, rinse them under water. Drain well so they don't freeze together in a frozen ball of water, tho. This takes away so much of the starchiness. They fry much better this way and aren't mushy. Yummy recipe, Striker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loma, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe is great! However, I can't leave well enough alone and I add 2 teaspoons seasoned salt with pepper per bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Make it easier.....Use bag of frozen stri-fry vegetables. Season it really good when it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I didn't have green bell pepper so I used all red and I think you could use any color you prefer and get the same results. These were super simple and all I added was a sprinkle of season salt as they were cooking. I plan on making a much bigger batch next time and this is something I plan to have on hand at all times for those breakfast for dinner nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Litegal1
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
It killed me to have to wait until this morning to eat and rate, but wait I did - and it was well worth it. 6 potatoes, 1 bell pepper and 1 onion gave me a 3# bag of frozen Potatoes O'Brien. I boiled whole (with skins) for 10", cooled, and then peeled and diced. They were so sticky I did as someone else suggested and rinced the cubed potatoes off in water, thoroughly dried, and then proceeded to oi, bag and tag. This morning, heated up a small cast iron skillet with a little olive oil and some butter, reached in the bag, grabbed a handful and TADAH! Crispy crunchy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside - - - simply wonderful. Thank you SO much for recipe! I'll be making this monthly from now on :) UPDATE: Just an fyi - I've found so many uses for these potatoes! They're also great for pot pies; potatoe, clam chowder, and vegetable soups; added to breakfast burritos, etc. We simply adore them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious! I need it right away, so I cubed the potatoes and while they fried up, diced up the peppers and onion. Added the onion when the potatoes were soft, cooked about 8 minutes, then added the peppers and cooked until they were crisp-tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Easy & delish! Haven't tried it frozen yet. I cubed my potatoes, added to boiling water and cooked approximately 5 minutes (still firm). Dipped potatoes in ice water to stop cooking, then proceeded with recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Delicious and attractive on the table. Keeping this on hand in the freezer is just plain brilliant. This summer, when my garden is in full swing, I'm going to freeze lots of this. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These are bland and sticky. Didn't work out for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This sounds great - BUT - Why freeze first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States