Streusel Rhubarb Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I am usually leary of making something with only one review for company, but I did. I was so good that even a guest that said he didn't like rhubarb said it was delicious. I doubled the recipe to use 9 x 13 pan. I had 8 cups of frozen rhubarb and used it all. It took 1 hr. and 20 min. to bake because of the thickness and the juice of the frozen fruit. So be patient with the baking part. You have to be sure that bottom crust is done. The crust takes like shortbread. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Thank you for the great recipe. I followed the advice of a few other reviewers and doubled the recipe for a 9 x 13 pan and baked for 1 hour 20 minutes. It was very good- custardy and crunchy. Perfect. I am throwing away all my other rhubarb recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Mmm-mm! I expected to like this or I wouldn't have made it in the first place, but I have to say this exceeded my expectations. Fancy restaurants like to do old-fashioned, comfort food desserts (in addition to their Creme Brulee, Molten Lava Cake, Key Lime Pie, etc.) and trust me, you'd pay big bucks for this dessert in one of those restaurants and it wouldn't be half as good. The crust is excellent - so buttery and delicious, but be careful when you serve this as it has a tendency to want to stay behind in the pan! The filling is perfect -just right sweetness, creamy, and you'd never guess there was egg in it. The topping was excellent. pretty and perfectly crumbly, such an ideal streusel topping that I've made a note of it to reference for ANY recipe where I want a streusel, be it cakes, pies, crisps or muffins. It was a challenge scaling this down to 3-servings for Hubs and me and finding just the right dish to put it in, but I obviously chose well because between the two of us we cleaned it up - we couldn't help going back for more! Regrettably, I didn't make a half recipe, using an 8x8" dish for 6 servings, instead of scaling this to 3 servings - we could have enjoyed this a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
The BEST rhubarb dessert I have ever had!! I used 5 cups of rhubarb instead of 3 and baked for an hour. Will definatly make again! This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Even though I screwed up the recipe, it still turned out Great! I forgot to put the topping on for some reason before I put it in the oven, so about ten minutes before it was supposed to be done, i put on the topping and put the broiler on low for about 4-5 minutes. It was really yummy. I also used 4 cups of rhubard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This has become my husband's favorite summertime dessert. I made it for several gatherings of friends and gave my copy of it away both times. He had a fit until I printed myself another copy and vowed not to give it away. I had an abundant strawberry crop last year and he suggested adding some to this recipe. I add 1-2 cups of strawberries with the rhubarb, fresh or frozen and do everything else the same. He asks for this dessert often and I think I could make it every week and he would not get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Moody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Great rhubarb dessert. The crunchy topping along with the tart center and cooky tasting crust are a great taste combination. I doubled the recipe and used 8 cups of fresh rhubarb, as we like lots of rhubarb. I baked it for 1 hr and 20 mins. till it was nice and golden on the top. A must rhubarb dessert that I will bake again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Fantastic rhubarb recipe. Loved the shortbread crust, I used 4 cups of rhubarb and baked it in a 9 X 11 pan. Baked for 1 hour. Rave reviews from all that tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
awesome, from a first time rhubarb user! I used 5 cups as well (need to work on my rhubarb judgment), and the second time 4 cups with a handful of frozen raspberries from last fall. baked for an hour. This goes over great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was super yummy and easy too. I used fresh rhubarb from the garden (about four cups) and cooked for about five minutes longer than stated. Thanks poster-I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States