Streusel Rhubarb Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used 4 cups of rhubarb. The bottom crust was a little hard to cut through, but it tasted so good! I did not add anything, but it would also be good with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Exceptional!!! I grew up with rhubarb and so when I got a basket full from a friend I thought to try something new with some of it. This was a superb choice. It is crumbles a bit on servint so be gentle, but as with the other reviewers I fould the shortbread style crust to be the over the top fabulous touch to this recipe. Next time I will add a bit more rhubarb, as the result was a bit sweet for me but SO SO SO good. A lovely rich treat with coffee and ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Very good warm with icecream! I doubled the recipe and added five cups of rhubarb, one cup of rasberries and one cup of strawberries. (all fresh) I cooked it for one hour and fifteen minutes. Also added some pecans to the topping. Delicious. I woud decrease the crust and topping by about a third next time though. It was a little too thick I think. All and all a great recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I'm not sure if I did something wrong, The layer of rhubarb was bareley detectable (I would use more), and was way too sweet, even though I cut back on the sugar. I didn't like the egginess at all. This was just not what I was expecting based on past reviews. For the amount of time it takes and all the bowls that get used to assemble this, I wanted to love it. I may try again with some modifications to give it a fair shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is so yummy. My husband who is not a rhubarb fan, loves this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Love it!! Everyone thinks im a baking pro when I make this....and I'm really not:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Mmm-mm! I expected to like this or I wouldn't have made it in the first place, but I have to say this exceeded my expectations. Fancy restaurants like to do old-fashioned, comfort food desserts (in addition to their Creme Brulee, Molten Lava Cake, Key Lime Pie, etc.) and trust me, you'd pay big bucks for this dessert in one of those restaurants and it wouldn't be half as good. The crust is excellent - so buttery and delicious, but be careful when you serve this as it has a tendency to want to stay behind in the pan! The filling is perfect -just right sweetness, creamy, and you'd never guess there was egg in it. The topping was excellent. pretty and perfectly crumbly, such an ideal streusel topping that I've made a note of it to reference for ANY recipe where I want a streusel, be it cakes, pies, crisps or muffins. It was a challenge scaling this down to 3-servings for Hubs and me and finding just the right dish to put it in, but I obviously chose well because between the two of us we cleaned it up - we couldn't help going back for more! Regrettably, I didn't make a half recipe, using an 8x8" dish for 6 servings, instead of scaling this to 3 servings - we could have enjoyed this a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Mmmm...this one's going into my regular rhubarb rotation. I made it just as the recipe says, and wouldn't change a thing. Hubs gave it two thumbs up, especially with a little spot of vanilla ice cream on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PointerSister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Quick and easy to prepare and tasted great! Made the house smell so good while baking. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made this the other night because I didn't have enough rhubarb for a pie and was craving something sweet. My main complaint is that it wasn't a nice mixture of sweet and tart but instead the filling actually tasted "eggy" to me. If I make it again I would put more sugar in the filling, making it about 2 cups and then I would nix one of the eggs for the filling and use some butter and vanilla instead. For the crumble I used brown sugar and add a little oatmeal for texture, maybe even some crushed walnuts. Otherwise though, it was definitely a new way for me to use up my rhubarb:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Kooiman Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bly, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States