Streusel Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sunshine
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe turned out great! I'll submit a photo if the picture turns out as well... Altered the recipe a bit though after reading the other reviews: Used butter flavored shortening (and a little extra) instead of plain ol' shortening; put in a little over a Tablespoon of cinnamon instead of 2 teaspoons... I think that the butter flavored shortening helped tone down any extra floury taste. I also had to cook it a little longer than suggested. Was a hit at work and at home... Even with the adjustments, would recommend eating with a favorite beverage on hand (mine turned out a tad bit dry the first time... second time, though, PERFECT!) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wolcottville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I HAD LOST MY GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE FOR KUCHEN YEARS AGO, THIS WAS EXACTLY LIKE MY GRANDMOTHER USED TO MAKE IT! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made this for our family's first Oktoberfest celebration and it was a HUGE hit! I will definitely make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Just like mom use to make! I also left the cake in the oven for 2 minutes more and it was too long. The timing is perfect. I would just use a smaller pan so the cake will be thicker. This is the coffee cake that I had been looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I took this to a pot luck gathering and it was a hit! I doubled the recipe to make thicker slices and used a 9x13 glass pan. I baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect timing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcottle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I WASNT SURE IF I WOULD LIKE THIS ...I MUST SAY EVERYONE WAS RIGHT THIS IS A HIT! I MADE THIS FOR A FRIEND WHOM IS GERMAN AND LOVES ALL THINGS GREMAN...HE WAS IN HEAVEN! ITS ONLY BEEN 2 DAYS SINCE I MADE THE FIRST ONE AND I HAVE ONE IN THE OVEN RIGHT NOW....I ADDED A TABLESPOON OR SO MORE MILK SINCE ALOT OF PEOPLE MENTIONED IT BEING DRY...MINE WAS PERFECT AND MOIST! KATHY CAPEZZUTO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathys kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I loved this cake so much! Very easy to make. I added half a tablespoon of vanilla extract and a little more butter flavored shortning! So far I have4 recieved 2 death threats if I do not make this cake again ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
If you eat this cake straight out of the oven you probably won't have any leftover. Everyone in my family enjoyed this so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Everyone loved this at Easter. I did not add the pecans though. I had to experiment with the topping to get the right consistency I was looking for that would be similar to the kuchen we used to get from a local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I added fresh chopped pears from the tree to the top of the cake and then added the streusel. I mixed the pears with some flour, cinnamon, and vanilla sugar ( something we have here in Germany). This cake is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States