Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This coffee cake was great! I did make some changes though: instead of using 2 cups white sugar, I used 1 cup white & 1 cup brown. I then used light sour cream and I doubled the streusel topping. On the topping I used brown sugar instead of white. I made mine in a 9 x 13 pan and it baked for about 45 min. My family loved it, thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a nice recipe. I left out the nuts and made the streusel from half cup brown and half cup granulated sugar, with more cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Next time I would make more streusel so that the layer of it is more pronounced and add more flavor. I gradually added streusel to the top of the cake as it baked so that the sugar wouldn't burn. This made a really nice crust to the cake. If doing this, may need to increase the cooking time slightly due to the opening of the oven. Let it cool for few hours before cutting. Wouldn't recommend baking this the morning you want to serve it because it won't cut nicely and makes for a sloppy presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
I made these into muffins, baking for 20 minutes. They were wonderful and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This is simply fabulous!!!!!!! I made another streusel coffee cake and saw this one recommended by a reviewer. Thank you! This is moist & delicious. It was gone in less then a day. I made extra cinnamon and sugar and put it in the middle of the cake. I like a big ribbon of streusel in the middle. I wish I could give this cake 6 stars. It deserves it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
delicious. i too altered by pouring in 1/3 of the batter, then half the cinnamon sugar, then 1/3 batter and the rest of the cinnamon sugar, then the rest of the batter. i cooked it for about 50-52 minutes. 60 is too long. when i served it i sprinkled some powdered sugar on the top. if you cook it too long, it will come out dry. if you follow the instructions for the sugar connoction as stated, it turns into a mess when served. oh and i use pecans instead. yum. we love this recipe with these few changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I don't know what went wrong with this recipe, I followed it exactly, with the exception of using only 16oz of sour cream, which was a little bit less than 2 cups. The batter tasted great, it came out very, very thick. I checked the cake every 5 minutes from 45 to 60 minutes, I was still getting liquid on the butterknife at 45, 50 & 55 minutes. When we ate it, it was dry. The sugar, cinnamon and nut mix did not bake into the cake at all. The nuts on the top burned and the sugar poured off when I removed the cake from the bundt pan. Should it have been mixed with some melted butter? I was very dissapointed and embarrased to have served this to my husband's co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
In an effort to lower the fat/carbs/calories a bit, I made several changes. Used 1 c Splenda and 1 c sugar, 1/2 c eggbeaters and 2 eggs, and only had 1/2 c light sour cream, so used that and 1 1/2 c nonfat plain yogurt. As suggested by other reviewers, I doubled the streusel filling and divided the batter into thirds so there was 2 rows of it running through. It needed to be baked for 65 minutes and was done perfectly. Let it cool for about 10 minutes and when I flipped the pan, it came right out. This makes one big bundt cake, but it is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a classic coffee cake, similar to what my late mother used to keep on hand for guests, but the recipe needed some help. First, I baked this in a flat-bottomed angel food type tube cake pan (the closest modern equivalent to my mother's tube pan w/ straight, 3-1/2" sides that was designed for streusel cakes). I covered the top w/ foil for part of the bake time to prevent the streusel from burning. This way the cake is turned out upside down, but is then inverted again so that the streusel is back on top. Fluted cake tops can't show the streusel, and the batter is less likely to run over in a taller pan. I made the cake as written except for using lowfat sour cream but w/o salt (almost 1 tsp) there is the "flat" taste some reviewers mentioned. When a baking recipe calls for butter but doesn't specify what type, the convention is that it means unsalted butter. Perhaps the submitter uses salted butter or margarine, so she didn't include the necessary salt in the recipe. If you use supermarket vanilla extract (and not extra-strength gourmet extract) the amount of vanilla should be doubled. Streusel sticks better if it includes a bit of butter. My batter came out too thick to spread well in the pan, and the cake was more oily-textured than I like. One solution to both issues is to sub in applesauce for half the recipe's butter. However, the recipe was a great starting point to recreate my mother's classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
This cake came out moist and yummy. I added more cinnamon and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Delicious!!!!!!!! Best coffee cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States