Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was a nice recipe. I left out the nuts and made the streusel from half cup brown and half cup granulated sugar, with more cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Next time I would make more streusel so that the layer of it is more pronounced and add more flavor. I gradually added streusel to the top of the cake as it baked so that the sugar wouldn't burn. This made a really nice crust to the cake. If doing this, may need to increase the cooking time slightly due to the opening of the oven. Let it cool for few hours before cutting. Wouldn't recommend baking this the morning you want to serve it because it won't cut nicely and makes for a sloppy presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I didn't have a Bundt pan, so I made it in two glass pie plates. It turned out wonderful. It was yummy without being overly-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I really enjoyed this cake and so did the family. It will be great for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
super simple to make and yummy!!! I substituted apples for the walnuts. My family won't eat it if it has nuts-but apples were a good trade! Awesome recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except for doubling the streusel amount and the brown sugar suggestions, which I would also strongly recommend, and also by adding some salt, as there is no salt listed in the receipe. I would never make this cake again. It was very heavy and dense. The cake part itself had NO flavor. From my limited baking experience the recipe needs to be reformulated to: include salt somewhere (or some other flavor), add some lightness to the cake and butter for the streusel "topping" which is actually the bottom of the cake. Without using a fat to hold the "topping" together at the bottom of the cake the nuts, sugar and cinnamon combo fell off and was dry. The amount of batter was also too much. The cake rose about 3/4 of an inch above the pan, I thought it was going to spill over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I didn't like it. It wasn't very sweet and the streusel wasn't a true streusel. I'd add some of the butter into the streusel so that it really sinks into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meena C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This recipe does not specify to melt or soften butter. When I made this with my students, the batter was the consistancy of bread dough. I added milk to thin it out to proper consistancy. Also, the ingredients listed for the streusel mixture, should have had brown sugar instead of white sugar. As with any recipe, read the ingredients & directions thoroughly before preparing the item so you don't waste time & money. Once the 3/4 cup milk was added, the coffee cake came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
delicious. i too altered by pouring in 1/3 of the batter, then half the cinnamon sugar, then 1/3 batter and the rest of the cinnamon sugar, then the rest of the batter. i cooked it for about 50-52 minutes. 60 is too long. when i served it i sprinkled some powdered sugar on the top. if you cook it too long, it will come out dry. if you follow the instructions for the sugar connoction as stated, it turns into a mess when served. oh and i use pecans instead. yum. we love this recipe with these few changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREGSGIRL63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wilton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Everyone who ate this cake said it was very good. I made a small mistake in not putting enough sugar-nut mixture in the middle of the cake. Next time I make this I will put all of the mixture in the middle & make a glaze for the top. More like a cinnamon roll cake, I guess. But this recipe it tops as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I took this to a work function and it went over very well. I took the advice of others and used half brown and half white sugar. I also added a glaze to the top. The batter is very thick and there is lots of it. I cooked mine in a 9x13in pan and it came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States