Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is really good, its perfectly moist and my family loved it. I substituted the sour cream for nonfat vanilla yogurt, and cut the recipe in half. Next time I make it I will double the streusel. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LARRYBOY888
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Awesome coffee cake. Just what I was looking for. I made a couple changes: I used half whole wheat flour, and half all purpose white flour. Based on other reviews, I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar for the streusel, and I omitted the nuts just because I didn't have any. I also layered all the streusel inside between layers of batter instead of putting any on the top of the batter (which would have been the bottom of the cake after turning it out after baking). It turned out great! Took a full hour to cook though. I think next time I will half this recipe, because it makes a very big coffee cake and takes a long time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this as a special treat for my fiance, as we are forever looking for different breakfast-type recipes to try. I enjoyed this but added a little dark and light brown sugar to the middle and top streusel to give it a little more texture and taste. Next time I will put a little of the topping in the batter, as well as putting the mixture in the bundt pan before adding batter and also in the middle and top as the recipe suggests. I only had one cup of sour cream so next time I will add the full two cups and see if that makes my cake a little more moist. Otherwise a great treat for anytime of day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Amazing and SOOO delicious! I followed the advice of another reviewer and use 1 cup white sugar + 1 cup brown sugar, and making the streusel with brown sugar. It did take longer than 60 mins, so keep checking on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My sister told me she wanted a coffee cake that tasted like our great grandma's used to, and this did the trick! I used salted, chopped pecans instead of walnuts and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great recipe! Everyone loved it! The only change I made was to use half white sugar and half brown sugar throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3girlz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as directed except for using pecans instead of walnuts. I should have followed the advice of some other reviews and made more of the sugar and nut mixture. And for the top (which becomes the bottom) I would make a crumb mixture of flour, sugar, butter and nuts so that it becomes more melted into the cake. In my stoneware bundt pan it took over an hour to bake. But I brought it warm to a morning meeting and had a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Outstanding! Simple recipe! Family loved it - even my mother in law who "doesn't like sweets" ate two pieces. I made one substitution - instead of 2 cups sour cream, I used one cup sour cream and one cup buttermilk. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This cake is very tasty and very big! I baked mine in a 13x9 pan and it rose an inch over the top. It did not run over, but it came close! The streusel was a good amount. Next time I'll swirl it around some in the pan after layering the batter/streusel. Everyone at work enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This could be a good base. We didn't think this was a very good cake. It smells like cornbread after it comes out of the oven. There is no streusel, as the topping is dry and it fell off the cake when we turned it over on the plate. We were expecting ooey gooey yummyness and got plain cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thi1rt3en

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States