Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Outstanding! Simple recipe! Family loved it - even my mother in law who "doesn't like sweets" ate two pieces. I made one substitution - instead of 2 cups sour cream, I used one cup sour cream and one cup buttermilk. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This cake is very tasty and very big! I baked mine in a 13x9 pan and it rose an inch over the top. It did not run over, but it came close! The streusel was a good amount. Next time I'll swirl it around some in the pan after layering the batter/streusel. Everyone at work enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This could be a good base. We didn't think this was a very good cake. It smells like cornbread after it comes out of the oven. There is no streusel, as the topping is dry and it fell off the cake when we turned it over on the plate. We were expecting ooey gooey yummyness and got plain cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thi1rt3en

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Well I'll be making this for the first time today, I just moved out of my folks house a couple months ago and left my bunt cake pan there, so I'll be making this into a roll. Pouring the batter on a greased waxed paper sheet, cooking it than putting the filling on top. Cook it a few minutes longer, than roll it up and drizzle some ising on top. 3 stars for now, just for it looking and sounding good. I'll edit and put the real rate later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Everone loves this each time we make it. I use brown sugar in the cinnamon blend and twirl it into the mix with a fork to get a more even distribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a nice coffee cake. I wanted to make it as written, but when I saw the amount of streusel, I did decide to double it and it came out great. Next time I will probably finish with the batter on top (putting streusel only in middle) because when you flip the cake, the sugar/nut mixture is kind of messy and crumbly to have on the bottom of cake. Also I did not have quite enough sour cream (had 1 and 1/4 cup) but it sill came out fine. The cake itself is not too sweet, so the sweet streusel is a nice contrast. It got a little too brown on the crust, but inside was still good and moist. Baked about 50-55 min., maybe it was a few too many min. Overall, happy with the coffee cake, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This cake has a great flavor but I don't see how anyone can "pour" this batter. It is way too stiff to pour. I had to add close to a full cup of milk just so I could get it in the Bundt pan. I will probably make it again but with some adjustments like one cup less flour and twice as much of the streusel filling. And I think I will bake it in a rectangular pan--half the batter, filling on top and then the other half of the batter. I only baked it about 50 minutes and even with the addition of the milk it still came out somewhat dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Well, this was my first attempt, ever, at a Coffee Cake. I was pleasantly surprised. I did change some things. I used canola oil, instead of butter, whole fat plain goat yogurt (can't have cow dairy in our house) instead of sour cream. I also used half splenda, and half splenda brown sugar blend for the cake, and used splenda brown sugar blend for the streusel. I doubled the streusel too. I found this cake moist, yummy, not too sweet ... I think I'll add little pieces of apple next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, and found it to be blander than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I took into account of other reviews and put the streusel on the last 10 minutes of baking, but next time will make more since I felt it was lacking. Tasted a m a z i n g!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlie2890

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States