Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was great. Everyone loved it. I added more of the streusel mix using brown/white sugar like many suggested. I also made an icing to drizzle on top. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
All of the unfavorable reviews are right on...this is very dry and bland, even after following suggestions to double the streusel and use brown sugar. Keep looking, there are better recipes. I will never make this again, what a waste of good flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is really good, its perfectly moist and my family loved it. I substituted the sour cream for nonfat vanilla yogurt, and cut the recipe in half. Next time I make it I will double the streusel. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LARRYBOY888
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Awesome coffee cake. Just what I was looking for. I made a couple changes: I used half whole wheat flour, and half all purpose white flour. Based on other reviews, I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar for the streusel, and I omitted the nuts just because I didn't have any. I also layered all the streusel inside between layers of batter instead of putting any on the top of the batter (which would have been the bottom of the cake after turning it out after baking). It turned out great! Took a full hour to cook though. I think next time I will half this recipe, because it makes a very big coffee cake and takes a long time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this as a special treat for my fiance, as we are forever looking for different breakfast-type recipes to try. I enjoyed this but added a little dark and light brown sugar to the middle and top streusel to give it a little more texture and taste. Next time I will put a little of the topping in the batter, as well as putting the mixture in the bundt pan before adding batter and also in the middle and top as the recipe suggests. I only had one cup of sour cream so next time I will add the full two cups and see if that makes my cake a little more moist. Otherwise a great treat for anytime of day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Amazing and SOOO delicious! I followed the advice of another reviewer and use 1 cup white sugar + 1 cup brown sugar, and making the streusel with brown sugar. It did take longer than 60 mins, so keep checking on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My sister told me she wanted a coffee cake that tasted like our great grandma's used to, and this did the trick! I used salted, chopped pecans instead of walnuts and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great recipe! Everyone loved it! The only change I made was to use half white sugar and half brown sugar throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3girlz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as directed except for using pecans instead of walnuts. I should have followed the advice of some other reviews and made more of the sugar and nut mixture. And for the top (which becomes the bottom) I would make a crumb mixture of flour, sugar, butter and nuts so that it becomes more melted into the cake. In my stoneware bundt pan it took over an hour to bake. But I brought it warm to a morning meeting and had a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Outstanding! Simple recipe! Family loved it - even my mother in law who "doesn't like sweets" ate two pieces. I made one substitution - instead of 2 cups sour cream, I used one cup sour cream and one cup buttermilk. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States