Strawberry/Rhubarb Crumb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I've made this pie about 5 times now and it's always delicious. I still, after all this time, can't figure out how to keep the liquid down--but I'll keep experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Amazing! I used 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of 1 cup sugar and also added a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch as recommended. Not runny in the least and had the perfect blend of tart and sweet. I also decreased the butter in the crumble topping to 6 tablespoons per the reviews, but honestly next time I think I'd use the whole amount. My husband keeps raving about this pie. I'd never made a rhubarb pie before and this was just delicious. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Perfect just as it is with a little added cornstarch. I made two, baked them and put them in the freezer for later use. I brought one to my in laws for dinner yesterday, thawed and warmed it in a 200 degree oven. It worked beautifully. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KissTheCook35
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
We had this on a hot spring night with homemade whipped cream and coffee -- It was delicious and everyone asked for seconds! I did half the sugar and added almost double the fruit and I think that made it even better! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheCook35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This pie is INCREDIBLE! I added 3/4 tsp cornstarch, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
very good way to use up rhubarb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is the first fruit pie I have ever made and it turned out awesome!!! I cooked it a little longer than the 35 min and it was not runny at all. Very good recipe I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Newcomer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brynn
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
this was my first pie, and it came out perrrrfect! i made the filling before i made the crust and i noticed as it was sitting out, the filling became more and more liquid-y as fluids were drawn out of strawberries and rhubarb. while my pie crust was chilling in the fridge, i strained the liquid from the filling and reduced it on the stove. let it cool, then added it back. (even though i was highly tempted to reserve it for spooning over ice cream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is a good pie! I added the tablespoon of cornstarch for insurance and the filling wasn't too runny. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States