Strawberry Yogurt Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I really like this scone recipe (and I have tried quite a few scone recipes). I have used strawberry yogurt and raspberry yogurt, and my family has decided they like the raspberry better. Some others have mentioned dryness. What I do is start with a cup and 1/4 of flour, then add the yogurt and I add the milk to the mix, also. If I need more flour, I add just a little until there is a workable dough. Scones shouldn't be overworked, though, so I pat the dough instead of kneading it, then use a biscuit cutter to make my shapes. Thanks for the great recipe! PS I do reduce bkg pdwr to 2 tsps., four seems a little much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I liked the recipe. It was one of the best I have made. My husband likes things on the sweeter side so I made a glaze with powdered sugar the strawberry yogurt and vanilla, butter and a little strawberry jam to jazz up the strawberry flavor. I am quite pleased with this recipe and will make it again with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Really quick and easy to make! Has a nice, sweet hint of fruit. Tastes great with a little butter and strawberry jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I don't understand why people want a super sweet scone; it's a SCONE, not shortcake! This was a super easy recipe, although I did change it a tad; I used 6 oz. yogurt, and only 2 1/2 tsp. baking powder. The extra 2 oz. yogurt didn't seem to affect the recipe except that the inside were just a bit too moist (I think next time I will bake them for 12 mins. instead of just 10), and the scones still rose to a nice size despite using less B.P. I think, for not using any eggs OR sugar, this recipe is really good! The texture (other than the slightly-too-moist issue) was really pleasant, too. With jam... without jam... That is the question!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I used peach yogurt instead of strawberry (thats what I had on hand) and 1 3/4 cups of SELF Rising flour, no baking powder and the butter and they came out really good. Lots of peach flavor and tender. Even my no carb ating 2 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Pretty good, actually! I used one 6 oz container of Archer Farms fat-free, sugar free Strawberry Cheesecake yogurt and no milk; the dough was a bit dry but very workable. Two-inch, heart-shaped scones baked up nicely, not sweet, but true scones aren't! No strawberry flavour, but that was probably due to the yogurt, not the recipe. I also used Crisco in place of butter; the scones weren't light and fluffy like others I've tried, but again, I'm blaming the yogurt or possibly over-kneading. The recipe is a BREEZE so I'll be trying it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I usually won't make anything that does not have a 5-star rating, much less something that hasn't even been rated yet, but I decided to try these because they looked interesting. These scones are good, with a great scone texture. I was all out of butter, so I used 1/8 cup of I Can't Believe it's not Butter and 1/8 cup of Crisco. I also only had the thick and creamy Yoplait yogurt. None of this seemed to have a bad effect. I was hoping for a more strawberry tasting scone, but it could have been the yogurt. Also, the dough was really strange and difficult to deal with and I only got 11 biscuits with the dough 1/2 inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Scones are usually served with jam and fresh cream, the fact that some people say that they are bland means that they didn't serve them the correct way!!! With Strawberry scones, try using strawberry jam and you will see that it all blends in together.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I make these often...especially when I need a quick treat for morning coffee! I reccommend 2-3 tsp baking powder, a whole yougart (8oz), and adding chocolate chips! They don't have a strong strawberry flavor, so any yougart is great to use! They are best served warm, not left over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States