Strawberry Yogurt Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I really like this scone recipe (and I have tried quite a few scone recipes). I have used strawberry yogurt and raspberry yogurt, and my family has decided they like the raspberry better. Some others have mentioned dryness. What I do is start with a cup and 1/4 of flour, then add the yogurt and I add the milk to the mix, also. If I need more flour, I add just a little until there is a workable dough. Scones shouldn't be overworked, though, so I pat the dough instead of kneading it, then use a biscuit cutter to make my shapes. Thanks for the great recipe! PS I do reduce bkg pdwr to 2 tsps., four seems a little much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I usually won't make anything that does not have a 5-star rating, much less something that hasn't even been rated yet, but I decided to try these because they looked interesting. These scones are good, with a great scone texture. I was all out of butter, so I used 1/8 cup of I Can't Believe it's not Butter and 1/8 cup of Crisco. I also only had the thick and creamy Yoplait yogurt. None of this seemed to have a bad effect. I was hoping for a more strawberry tasting scone, but it could have been the yogurt. Also, the dough was really strange and difficult to deal with and I only got 11 biscuits with the dough 1/2 inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Scones are usually served with jam and fresh cream, the fact that some people say that they are bland means that they didn't serve them the correct way!!! With Strawberry scones, try using strawberry jam and you will see that it all blends in together.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made these Scones tonight and they were not good at all. I needed a recipe that used Strawberry yogurt, since I had a lot leftover, so I chose this one. I read the reviews before making them so I checked the batter prior to baking them. I made the Scones by the recipe and tasted the batter it was bland and not sweet. I then added 4 Fresh Strawberries and 2 extra Tbsps of Sugar then crossed my fingers. The additions made no difference at all the Scones turned out like yogurt flavored muffins with no sweetness or flavor. I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
The texture was great but they ended up really bland-even after I sprinkled sugar on the tops. I followed the suggestions and added berries to the dough, but even that didn't help out with the sweetness enough. Next time I'll add 1/3 cup of sugar to the mix and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I really liked these... you could only taste the strawberry yogurt slightly- it wasn't too overpowering but it was definitely there. Not amazing good still very good and very simple (great if you didn't have any eggs like me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I liked the recipe. It was one of the best I have made. My husband likes things on the sweeter side so I made a glaze with powdered sugar the strawberry yogurt and vanilla, butter and a little strawberry jam to jazz up the strawberry flavor. I am quite pleased with this recipe and will make it again with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Pretty good, actually! I used one 6 oz container of Archer Farms fat-free, sugar free Strawberry Cheesecake yogurt and no milk; the dough was a bit dry but very workable. Two-inch, heart-shaped scones baked up nicely, not sweet, but true scones aren't! No strawberry flavour, but that was probably due to the yogurt, not the recipe. I also used Crisco in place of butter; the scones weren't light and fluffy like others I've tried, but again, I'm blaming the yogurt or possibly over-kneading. The recipe is a BREEZE so I'll be trying it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I make these often...especially when I need a quick treat for morning coffee! I reccommend 2-3 tsp baking powder, a whole yougart (8oz), and adding chocolate chips! They don't have a strong strawberry flavor, so any yougart is great to use! They are best served warm, not left over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Not bad, but could be made better. I suggest using only 2 and a half teaspoons of baking powder (the suggested 4 makes it taste acrid!) Use only thick, good quality yoghurt - Greek style is best. Add a couple of tablespoons of honey too. For fan ovens, 190 Celsius is a much better cooking temperature, or they will burn. More cakey than scone-like texture, but could be amazing with these tweaks to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States