Strawberry Yogurt Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I usually won't make anything that does not have a 5-star rating, much less something that hasn't even been rated yet, but I decided to try these because they looked interesting. These scones are good, with a great scone texture. I was all out of butter, so I used 1/8 cup of I Can't Believe it's not Butter and 1/8 cup of Crisco. I also only had the thick and creamy Yoplait yogurt. None of this seemed to have a bad effect. I was hoping for a more strawberry tasting scone, but it could have been the yogurt. Also, the dough was really strange and difficult to deal with and I only got 11 biscuits with the dough 1/2 inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I really liked these... you could only taste the strawberry yogurt slightly- it wasn't too overpowering but it was definitely there. Not amazing good still very good and very simple (great if you didn't have any eggs like me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I don't know what happened but these scones came out like hard, dry, bisquits. The batter was impossibly crumbly and the flavor was very bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
We were disappointed in these scones. They were rather blah. I used more yogurt because the dough was so dry and I sprinkled a little sugar on top but even that didn't help...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
They didn't have much flavor, so they ended up really being more like biscuits. They were still good, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I really like this scone recipe (and I have tried quite a few scone recipes). I have used strawberry yogurt and raspberry yogurt, and my family has decided they like the raspberry better. Some others have mentioned dryness. What I do is start with a cup and 1/4 of flour, then add the yogurt and I add the milk to the mix, also. If I need more flour, I add just a little until there is a workable dough. Scones shouldn't be overworked, though, so I pat the dough instead of kneading it, then use a biscuit cutter to make my shapes. Thanks for the great recipe! PS I do reduce bkg pdwr to 2 tsps., four seems a little much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These had a very nasty yet bland taste. There was not even a "hint" of the strawberry yogurt taste. I was rather disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Not bad, but could be made better. I suggest using only 2 and a half teaspoons of baking powder (the suggested 4 makes it taste acrid!) Use only thick, good quality yoghurt - Greek style is best. Add a couple of tablespoons of honey too. For fan ovens, 190 Celsius is a much better cooking temperature, or they will burn. More cakey than scone-like texture, but could be amazing with these tweaks to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I too was disappointed with this recipe. I was excited because it sounded easy and quick. However, they turned out more like biscuits and the strawberry flavor was very faint. We used the leftovers to make a strawberry shortcake of sorts and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Altus Afb, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
kind of blah tasting. better if you top them with sugar before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States