Strawberry Whipped Sensation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I have made this a few times, and it tastes 10 times better if you let it almost totally defrost before serving. (I let it sit out at least 1/2 hour after removing from loaf pan). If you serve right out of the freezer, it is kind of tasteless, but is delicious when it melts a little. Also, I made the mistake of using a store brand once, but real Cool Whip tastes much better. Other points I discovered after reading reviews and also making a few times: Get 12 oz. Cool Whip to have enough to use in the recipe and to be able cover the entire loaf at serving time. I use 10 oreos plus 1 1/2 tbsp. butter for a more substantial crust. This keeps well in the freezer. You can make it a couple of weeks in advance so there's one less thing to do when preparing for company. All in all, it's a good summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
We made this for mother's day and was a big hit, but we all agreed that it ould be better if you put strawberry fillin then cookies and then repeat so you have a few layers of the choc cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simpell
Home Town: Kentwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this a few weeks ago for a family BBQ and it was a BIG hit! I used graham cracker crumbs to make the crust. Make sure to line the loaf pan with foil, as this helps it to come out easily. I quickly figured out that you could use almost any type of fruit to make this and it would still be super yummy! I'm going to make it again for Memorial Day, but I think I'm going to use peaches or mandarin oranges, with the graham crust. UPDATE: Me & my big ideas! I made this for a third time, using mandarin oranges as I had threatened to do before. It didn't come out so well, but I think I know why: using a lg. can of the oranges, I did drain the liquid but I think they needed to be drained AGAIN after mashing. The flavor was terrific and after about a full day, it was completely frozen, but that was just the leftovers--we ate it without the fancy topping, anyway, and it was a bit more like a really oold, yogurt consistency but still very, very tasty. So, I think I will do it again, with a double draining for any type of canned fruit that I might use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was delicious, the whole family loved it. I substituted fat free condensed milk, fat free Cool Whip and about 12 Nabisco Chocolate Wafers to lighten it up a little. Freezes well. Great recipe, can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was a hit with my family. Thanks to the other reviews, I let it sit out of the freezer for a little while before serving. I also had to use extra cookies for this (12 total). Also, I think it wouldn't hurt to get a bigger container of Cool Whip to use for the outer layer (you can use the leftover Cool Whip with the extra Oreo cookies...mmmmm). Next time I will try something else, like raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grill Daddy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
was delicious, took another review's idea and experemented with it I replaced the oreo with gramcrackers and the strawberry with kiwifruit and it turned awesome. The family said that they liked the kiwi better than the strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nesint

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This was so delicious my family requested we make this again! I followed the directions but did something a litle different since I made this several days ahead of when I wanted to serve it. Since I wasn't sure if the strawberries would last until the serving day I layered those in the pan first before pouring in the cool whip mixture. It didn't look as cute on top but it worked and the dessert stayed fresh until serving time! Chocolate graham crackers worked great instead of oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Tasty and easy to make! I actually only had a ready made chocolate pie crust. So I followed the recipe exactly but used only 2 cups strawberries mashed and when it was ready topped it with a few other cut strawberries and whipped cream. Great dessert for summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I served this to friends and they couldn't believe that there wasn't ice cream in it! They left with the recipe. This is the perfect make-ahead dessert for entertaining. I now keep one stashed in my freezer for impromptu guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I turned this recipe into a pie with an oreo crust and it was a huge hit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prospective PhD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States