Strawberry Whipped Sensation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I made this for our family get-together. The original presentation was awesome, but the longer it thawed, the less presentable it became. However, the taste was wonderful! I made this in a springform pan, as I was using my loaf pans for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
My husband and I thought this was wonderful. I followed the advice of others who cut it into serving slices and let it soften up before serving. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is so good! My husband suggested next time to make layers of the cookies and strawberry filling. I will be making this refreshing dessert again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I'd give this 4.5 stars. I mashed the strawberries with my (clean!) hands until they were very squishy. I used 1/4 cup of key lime juice (all I had). I tasted it in the bowl, it was sweet, tasted like strawberries with some key lime juice (probably could have used 1/2 cup of the key lime if I had it). I figured that since we weren't baking it, the flavor would not change much, only absorb slightly more. I used 2 C. real whipped cream slightly sweetened with sugar/vanilla. This made it pretty sweet. I think next time I'd skip the sugar and just add vanilla. I used 12 oreos + 1 1/2 tbs butter. When you taste it out of the freezer, it tastes like ice crystal ice cream. Definitely let it thaw. I wish I would have used 20 oreos for the crust, would have been better. I'd also leave out the butter or reduce to 1/2 tbs. I could feel the grease on my tongue after I had a bite. Oreos have the inside portion which is creamy enough, so if they're mixed well I don't think there would be a need for butter. Next time I will use double stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Mom made this, recommended putting more cookie crumbs on the bottom. If you make it with the fat free sweet. cond. milk it will not set up, and people actually liked it that way better than when it was frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
It looked pretty when sliced but short on flavor. And allot of it was scraped off the plates into the trash can. I might experiment on using some strawberry extract or something to boost the strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Thought this was tasty and like the flavor combination of the fruit with chocolate crust. I do have to say, that as with some other recipes made with the sweetened condensed milk, it was a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eunoia
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
The best dessert I've had in years. Rave reviews from every one who tasted it. Just to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eunoia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Imagine eating as much cool whip as a slice of cake. (Ew....). That is what this is. It does not taste as good as what it is raved up to be. Strawberry ice cream tastes 1000 times better. And, I agree with a previous review that said the 1/4 cup of lemon juice makes for an overpowering lemon flavor. The worst part is the whole thing is mostly coolwhip... and cool whip is mostly hydrogenated oil. After this was frozen, I felt like I was eating Crisco... and the flavor was not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Followed recipe exactly. SO GOOD! Be prepared to be eating a frozen dessert OR do what I'll do next time. Set it out about twenty minutes before serving so it has time to soften a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States