Strawberry Twinkie Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I have made this several times and each time it was wonderful. The last two times I made a double recipe and layered it in a large lead crystal bowl. Not only was it beautiful it was a huge success. My 91 year old mother wanted it for her "Birthday Cake". Wonderful recipe...the only problem there are no leftovers to munch on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Winnie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill Kincaid
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great, but way too thin with just one layer of twinkies! I used 20 twinkies and the double decker works perfect with the the amount of topping specified in the original recipe. I also used the perfect strawberry topping recipe and think it is a much tastier option!. Ummm ummm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made this for a co-workers birthday instead of the usual cake. Everyone loved it. She only shared with our department and took the rest home. For a quick no bake dessert this is a keeper. Too easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This went over big at a 4th of July BBQ. I did modify slightly. I used a trifle dish and the amount of cream cheese filling was just right. I did have to use 12 Twinkies though. The biggest change I made was to use Supreme Strawberry Topping, from this site, in place of ready made strawberry glaze. I took one look at the ingredients in that stuff and just could not bring myself to buy it. Besides Supreme Strawberry Topping is to die for and very easy to make. I also added a few blueberries for that red, white and blue look. The end result was great to look at and even better to eat. Just make sure you give it enough time to set in the fridge before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This recipe was the easiest and best I have found in a long time.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Very tasty dessert...made for a neighborhood picnic...family and friends loved it. Considering making as a trifle next time..the bowl is deeper and will layer nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I remember when there were twinkies with strawberry filling in them. I loved them so this is a nice sub. I agree with others, you MUST cut the cream cheese mix in half. This is very easy and great for hot weather since you don't have to turn the oven on. Everyone told me they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was OK but I substituted Ho Ho's for the Twinkies. Don't do that same with Ding Dong's !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan Vallee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I have now made this recipe twice for family get togethers. It is wonderful for the 4th of July. Each time it was eaten gone and I was asked several times for the recipe. This is by far my favorite dessert!!!!!!! No bake, what more could you want in a fantastic tasting dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
While this recipe was good...the ingredients ran over. There was too much filling for the size of the dish. Filling needs to be reduced by about 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States